Research Data Guide

Managing research data

Finnish research data archives

Directories for searching research data archives

Research Infrastuctures Databank
A Finnish databank for researchers, research infrastructure service providers and funders. The service promotes sharing and openness by describing and showcasing research infrastructures and their services in a unified manner. In pilot phase

re3data.org - Registry of research data repositories  

  • Recommended by the European Commission’s Guidelines on Open Access to Scientific Publications and Research Data in Horizon 2020.
  • Browsing options: by discipline, by country, by data type

Data repositories - part of the Open Access Directories

Scientific Data
A peer-reviewed, open-access journal for descriptions of scientifically valuable datasets, and research that advances the sharing and reuse of scientific data.

Statistical data

Criteria for choosing data archive

Is the data archive intended to specific discipline?

  • If yes also metadata is discipline specific.
  • If multidisciplinary searching may be more challenging.

For what kind of data is the archive aimed at?

  • Variables are more detailed if data is of specific kind.
  • Sensitive archives have restrictions concerning the access for research data.

Is the archive international? Is Finnish archive part of international archive consortium?

Data archive offered by science journal?

  • Linking to actual publication (article) works well.
  • Continuity of the archive may be uncertain.
  • Suitable for short term research data archiving.

Finnish research data archives are one option as well as data archives offered by your own research institution.

Consider also

Need support?

International research data archives

 

UK Data Service Discover
Get data, use data, manage data and deposit data. Explore social, economic and population data resourses about countries in the world using UK Data Service map

 

Figshare  Established in 2012  Figshare is an open platform for institutions, publishers and researchers for making all research outputs (from posters to datasets)  available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner.
About 
Terms and conditions

Open source data archives

Dataverse: Open source research data repository software

Data archives supported by publishers

Elsevier


Open Library of Humanities - OLH Read about research data in OLH journals and books

Wiley Data Sharing

Other data archives

Mendeley data

  • For big and small datasets.
  • All datasets get unique DOI
  • After uploading data files Mendeley hosts the data
  • It is also possible to share data privately with chosen people
  • Mendely has teamed up with DANS (Data Archiving and Networking Services) for long term preservation of research data
  • Browse data sets uploaded by other researchers and see how many times data sets have been viewed and downloaded

DataCite Metadata Search: 
A global non-profit organisation that provides persistent identifiers (DOIs) for rsearch data. The goal of DataCite is to help locate, identify and cite research data.

Journals about research data

Data in Brief provides a way for researchers to easily share and reuse each other's datasets by publishing data articles that:

  • Thoroughly describe your data, facilitating reproducibility.
  • Make your data, which is often buried in supplementary material, easier to find.
  • Increase traffic towards associated research articles and data, leading to more citations.
  • Open up doors for new collaborations.

Because you never know what data will be useful to someone else, Data in Brief welcomes submissions that describe data from all research areas. Data in Brief is published from 2014. Data in Brief is indexed by Scopus database

Finnish Committee for Research Data supports the directory of data journals. Journals list (as of 23rd Nov 2016):

  • Biodiversity Data Journal
  • Biomedical Data Journal
  • BMC Research Notes
  • The CODATA Data Science Journal
  • Earth System Science Data
  • F1000Research
  • Genomics Data
  • Geoscience Data Journal
  • GigaScience
  • International Journal of Robotics Research
  • Journal of Chemical & Engineering Data
  • Journal of Open Archeology Data
  • Journal of Open Psychology Data
  • Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data
  • Matters
  • Open Health Data
  • Research Data Journal for the Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Scientific Data

Integrating articles, data and researchers

Read about THOR a 30 month project funded by the European Commission under the Horizon 2020 programme. It will establish seamless integration between articles, data, and researchers across the research lifecycle. This will create a wealth of open resources and foster a sustainable international e-infrastructure. The result will be reduced duplication, economies of scale, richer research services, and opportunities for innovation.

DLI Service - The Data Literature Interlinking
- About

line above footer

Oulun yliopiston kirjasto
PL 7500
90014 OULUN YLIOPISTO
Vaihde: 0294 480000