LibGuides: Geography subject guide: Journals/Journal databases

Evaluating journals

Guide to evaluation based on scientific publishing : Evaluating journals

JUFO portal Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The Publication Forum system is based on quality classification of scientific publication channels - journals, publication series and book publishers. In the JUFO portal you can perform publication channel searches.
More information
Ulrichsweb - Global serials directory Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Ulrichsweb is a source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Journal Impact Factors (IF) for journals included in the Web of Science database are published in Journal Citation Reports. More information about JCR | More information about Impact Factor
Journal Citation Reports® includes journal impact factors. It allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals.
SJR - SCImago Journal & Country Rank Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country-specific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). More information about SCImago Journal & Country Rank. More information about SJR indicator.
More information
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
An online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
More information about the database

Title abbreviations

Journal Abbreviation Sources Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Lehtien nimien lyhenteitä.

Newspapers

PressReader Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
PressReader (formerly PressDisplay) offers access to 5000+ newspapers, from 100 countries, in 60 languages. Older issues are available for 60 days. Limited 5 simultaneous users.

Journals by subject

You can browse e-journals by subject in Oula.

Earth Sciences contains categories both in the fields of geosciences and geography.

The SCImago Journal & Country Rank portal contains ranking lists by subject for publications (journals, conference proceedings, books) included in the Scopus database. Lists can be sorted according to different indicators.

Earth and Planetary Sciences
1070 journals in Earth and Planetary Sciences. Subcategories include e.g. Computers in Earth Sciences etc.
Environmental Science
1200 journalks in Environmental Science. Subcategories include Nature and Landscape conservation, Pollution etc.
Social Sciences
5100 journals in Social Sciences. Subcategories include Demography, Transportation, Urban studies etc.

Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows the evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data drawn from over 10000 scholarly and technical journals included in the Web of Science -database. Journals are divided into over 200 categories by subject.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
JCR Science Edition (e.g. Geography, Physical)
JCR Social Sciences Edition (e.g. Geography, Human)

Individual electronic journals

Nature Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Publishes original scientific research reports, review articles surveying recent developments in specific disciplines, short contributions, letters, and commentary. Includes advertising, abstracts, bibliographies, charts, illustrations, trade literature, book reviews.
Science Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Science is a weekly magazine providing news of recent international developments and research in all fields of science.
Science is a weekly magazine providing news of recent international developments and research in all fields of science. Publishes original research results, reviews and short features.
IOP conference series. Earth and Environmental Science EN Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan

Domestic journal databases

Arto - kotimaisia artikkeliviitteitä Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Mikä Arto on? | Arton lehtilista
Vinkki: Tee haku yhtä aikaa Artosta ja Journal.fi:n aineistosta Kotimaisia artikkeleita -välilehdellä Oula-Finnassa.
Suomessa painetut aikakauslehdet ovat Oulun yliopiston kirjaston vapaakappalearkistossa, josta ne lainataan lukusalilainaksi.

International journal databases

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Full text of over 9000 publications in nearly every academic field of study. Ebsco guide
Annual Reviews Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A nonprofit journal publisher of review series in several discipliness.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary ejournals since 1995. Guide
SpringerLink Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary online information service. Guide
Wiley Online Library Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
E-journals and e-books in multiple subject areas. | Guide
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Collection Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidiciplinary full text database. Includes academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials. JSTOR quick guide

Open Access journals

DOAJ-Directory of Open Access Journals EN
Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use an appropriate quality control system, and it will not be limited to particular languages or subject areas. The aim of the Directory is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

Genamics JournalSeek Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
LivRe Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
SpringerOpen Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
SpringerOpen covers all fields within science, technology and medicine (STM).
In June 2010, SpringerOpen was launched as a response to the growing interest in open access
publishing. SpringerOpen is our new range of fully open access journals, which covers all
disciplines within the science, technology and medicine (STM) fields, giving authors in all areas
of science the opportunity to publish open access.
Scientific Reports EN Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Scientific Reports is a peer-reviewed open access research publication from the publishers of Nature, covering all areas of the natural sciences.
Scientific Reports is a peer-reviewed open access research publication from the publishers of Nature, covering all areas of the natural sciences. Rapid dissemination of accepted papers to the widest possible audience is achieved through a programme of continuous online publication. In addition, all papers are archived in PubMed Central.
PLOS - Public Library of Science Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
PLoS publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals: PLoS ONE, PLoS Medicine, PLoS Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Computational Biology, PLoS Pathogens, and PLoS Neglected Tropical Diseases.
Scientific Journals International Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan

Library catalogues

Accessing a journal article

Try searching for journal articles with the following useful tools:

Oula-Finna library catalogue
Search by Article title.

Google Scholar (university remote access) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Search by article title. Use also Google. Quick guide | More information
National Repository Library Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The National Repository Library (in Kuopio) stores material received from other libraries. | Free of charge book and article requests
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A search engine for freely accessible scholarly literature.
More information about the database

Interlibrary loan service

Alternative access to articles
How to access a scholarly article when the organisation does not have a valid licence agreement for the journal? Useful tips from the FinELib.

Parallel publishing

About parallel publishing (or self archiving) on Open Access publishing guide.

Open Access (OA) -publishing

A scientific publication is openly accessible when both the scholarly community and the general public have free and unrestricted access to it on the Internet.

Guide for open access-publishing.