LibGuides: Geography subject guide: Books/Reports

Reference books

Merriam-Webster Online Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary is based on the print version of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate® Dictionary, Eleventh Edition. The online dictionary includes the main A-Z listing of the Collegiate Dictionary, as well as the Abbreviations, Foreign Words and Phrases, Biographical Names, and Geographical Names sections of that book. It also includes 1,000 illustrations and 25 tables.
Encyclopedia of Geography Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography EN Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
SAGE Research Methods Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A research methods tool. Contains books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, a selection of journal articles, videos, and podcasts. | Guide
Ulrichsweb - Global serials directory Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Ulrichsweb is a source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals.

Dictionaries

MOT Kielipalvelu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
MOT Kielipalvelu contains dictionaries, translator, and proofreading and spell checker. | Guide
TEPA term bank Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The TEPA is the Finnish Terminology Centre TSK's multilingual term bank of special language terms and their definitions.
TEPAn kielet ovat suomi, ruotsi ja muut pohjoismaiset kielet sekä englanti, saksa, ranska, venäjä (translitteroituna), espanja ja italia. Eniten TEPAssa on suomea, mutta usein termitietueissa on suomenkielisten termien ja määritelmien lisäksi vastineet 1—6 muulla kielellä.

Kaikkiaan TEPAssa on yli 100 000 termitietuetta. Määrä kasvaa vuosittain sitä mukaa kuin TSK saa käyttöönsä TEPAan soveltuvaa aineistoa.

Electronic books

Ebook Central (ProQuest) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary. E-books. Guide
Ellibs Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary. Finnish and English titles. | Guide
Google Books Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Information about the book and/or possibility to preview selected pages and/or full-text.
eBook Collection (Ebsco) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary. E-books. Ebsco guide | E-books guide
Elsevier Books on ScienceDirect Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Monitieteinen. E-kirjoja. | Ohje

Open access books

DOAB Directory of Open Access Books Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
DOAB indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books. | More information
InTech Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Over 2400 open access books and 6 open access journals from the fields of science, technology and medical science.
Google Books Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Information about the book and/or possibility to preview selected pages and/or full-text.
OAPEN Library Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
World Public Library Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
More than 75,000 public domain books in HTML.
Books and texts in various languages, including Finnish. Only the public access section is freely available.

Geography shelf classes

P 316 Sociology, general

P 5 Natural sciences. History and philosophy of the natural sciences

P 502/504 Environmental science. Environmental questions. Sustainable development

P 55 Geosciences. Geology. Regional geology. Applied geology and geophysics

P 551.5 Meteorology. Climatology

P 556 Hydrosphere. Hydrology. Water resources. Limnology

P 56 Paleontology

P 57 Biological sciences, general

P 58 Botany

P 581.9E Geographic botany. Europe

P 581.9M Geographic botany. Rest of the world

P 59 Zoology. Geographic zoology

P 624 Civil engineering. Mechanics of structures. Ice and snow. Offshore. Water resources engineering

P 630 Forestry. Agriculture. Horticulture. Soil science. Plant protection

P 636 Animal husbandry. Fur animals. Hunting. Fishing. Fish breeding

P 662 Fuels. Compustion. Explosives

P 9:004 Geoinformatics

P 91(036) Travel guides

P 910 General geography

P 910.4 Expeditions. Travel accounts

P 911.2 Physical geography

P 911.3 Human geography. Cultural geography. Social geography

P 911.3:32 Geopolitics

P 911.3:33 Economic geography

P 911.4 Travel. Tourism

P 911.9 Planning geography

P 913 Regional geography

P 914 Europe. European Union

P 914.80 Finland

P 915 Asia

P 916 Africa

P 917/918 America

P 919 Other countries

Library catalogues

Accessing books

Useful tools for accessing books:

Oula-Finna library catalogue
Seach by book title, author or ISBN number.
Universal borrowing
Through Universal Borrowing the staff and students of the University of Oulu can request journal articles free of charge from the National Repository Library, which is located in Kuopio. Instructions
Interlibrary loan service
The interlibrary loan service orders publications for loan and photocopies of publications that are not available at Oulu University Library. The service is fee-based.

Acquisition suggestions

Help in selection

Evaluating books

Evaluation based on scientific publishing: Evaluating books
The Publication Forum
In the Publication Forum you can search for journals, publication series and book publishers that have a Publication Forum classification. The rating has three levels: 1 = basic; 2 = leading; 3 = top.

Publications of research institutes

Publications of the Finnish Environment Institute Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Serial publications and monographs by the Finnish Environment Institute.
The results of research and other activities carried out by the Finnish Environment Institute are regularly published in various Finnish and foreign scientific and professional journals, and special guides and reports. We also produce a variety of publications in cooperation with other organisations.
GTK publications EN Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The Geological Survey of Finland (GTK)
Arctic Centre - University of Lapland Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
National and international hub of information and centre of excellence which conducts multidisciplinary research in changes in the Arctic region.
MTT's publications Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
MTT Agrifood Research Finland
Metla's publications EN Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The Finnish Forest Research Institute (Metla)
FGFRI's publications Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Finnish Game and Fisheries Research Institute
Julkari Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Julkari is an open publications archive common for the administrative branch of the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health. Collections: Kansanterveyslaitos KTL , Lääkealan turvallisuus- ja kehittämiskeskus Fimea, Sosiaali- ja terveysalan tutkimus- ja kehittämiskeskus Stakes, Sosiaali- ja terveysministeriö STM, Säteilyturvakeskus STUK, Terveyden ja hyvinvoinnin laitos THL ja Työterveyslaitos TTL.
VTT publications Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland