LibGuides: Biology: Articles/Databases

Accessing a journal article

Try searching for journal articles with the following useful tools:

Oula-Finna library catalogue
Search by Article title.

Google Scholar (university remote access) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Search by article title. Use also Google. Quick guide | More information
National Repository Library Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The National Repository Library (in Kuopio) stores material received from other libraries. | Free of charge book and article requests
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A search engine for freely accessible scholarly literature.
More information about the database

Interlibrary loan service

Alternative access to articles
How to access a scholarly article when the organisation does not have a valid licence agreement for the journal? Useful tips from the FinELib.

Citation Alerts

Making a citation alert means that you will be automatically kept up-to-date when a certain article or a particular researcher has been cited.

Citation alerts in Scopus and Web of Science databases

Evaluating articles

Guide for Evaluation based on scientific publishing : Evaluating articles

Key databases

Scopus Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary citation database: journals, conference papers, trade publications, book series, patents. Scopus quick guide | User rights
If you experience technical issues in accessing or using Scopus, try emptying your browser cache and cookies. You can also try a different browser: for example, switch from Chrome to Edge. If the problems persist, please contact the library at elele@oulu.fi Technical issues in Scopus database
Web of Science Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database: journals and journal and book-based proceedings. Web of Science quick guide | More information about the database
Web of Science provides access to 6 citation databases: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities and Emerging Sources Citation Index. More information.
PubMed (Medline) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Free Medline-database. PubMed guide
PubMed includes over 25 million bibliographic citations in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. It provides access to MEDLINE® and to articles in selected life sciences journals not included in MEDLINE. PubMed is a free resource.

Full text databases

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary ejournals since 1995. Guide
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Full text of over 9000 publications in nearly every academic field of study. Ebsco guide
SpringerLink Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary online information service. Guide
Wiley Online Library Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
E-journals and e-books in multiple subject areas. | Guide
PubMed Central Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Collection Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidiciplinary full text database. Includes academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials. JSTOR quick guide

Other useful databases

Agris Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
AGRIS is the international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology.
AGRIS is the international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. It was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to bring together world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture.
About 3 million references.
Arctic & Antarctic Regions (EBSCO) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Arctic & Antarctic Regions is the world's largest collection of international polar databases. Ebsco guide
Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and indexed from a wide variety of sources including scientific periodicals, monographs, proceedings of conferences and symposia, government reports, theses, dissertations and books. Many titles are indexed only in AAR. AAR is the best resource available for research on cold regions—from geology to global warming, engineering to oceanography, and biology to ethnic diversity.
FishBase Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Fish biology database. Information of e. g. 32 300 species.
FishBase was developed at the WorldFish Center in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and many other partners, and with support from the European Commission (EC).
Baltic Marine Environment Bibliography Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The Baltic Marine Environment Bibliography covers bibliographic information on the Baltic Sea, i.e. all marine areas from the Gulfs of Finland and Bothnia in the east and north to the Belt Sea and Kattegat in the west.
The Baltic Marine Environment Bibliography covers bibliographic information on the Baltic Sea, i.e. all marine areas from the Gulfs of Finland and Bothnia in the east and north to the Belt Sea and Kattegat in the west. It contains references to reports including "grey literature", journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations etc. The bibliography covers material from the year 1970, currently ca. 11 000 references.
Medline (Ovid) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The MEDLINE is a bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences.
Includes Medline Daily Update which contains the latest references and Medline In-Process (new records which have not yet been enhanced with MeSH headings).
CAS SciFinder-n Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
An easy-to-use interface for the world's leading chemical information sources, millions of literature and patent references, as well as chemical compounds and reactions containing information of CAS databases, such as the Chemical Abstracts database. Also contains Medline. Access only in university network, for remote connection use VPN client. Only the students and staff of University of Oulu are entitled to use this database. All users need to create a personal account to use SciFinder-n. Use an email address ending oulu.fi in contact information. Link to new user registation |
SciFinder-n quick guide | Rights to use | SciFinder-n Content

Scientific search engines

Google Scholar (university remote access) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A web search engine for scientific information. When you log in with your University of Oulu user ID, you have access to the licensed electronic resources also from outside the University of Oulu Network. Google Scholar quick guide
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A search engine for freely accessible scholarly literature.
More information about the database

Finding search terms

Use the tools listed below to find terminology related to your subject area. More about finding search terms in Finding scientific information

MOT Kielipalvelu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
MOT Kielipalvelu contains dictionaries, translator, and proofreading and spell checker. | Guide

Scopus
Start searching with concepts and terminology familiar to you. You can find more potential search terms in the Keyword category of the Refine Results box.
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database covering over 21,000 titles in the fields of science, technology, medicine (100% Medline coverage), social sciences and Arts & Humanities. It includes 6.5 million conferences papers, book series and trade publications. Scopus also cross-searches 24 million patents from five patent offices (US Patent & Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office).
Wikipedia
Useful resource for getting to know the subject and finding synonyms.

Reference Management

Reference management software enables you to
- create your personal database
- share references
- create a bibliography
- create in-text-citations

Freely available reference management software: Mendeley, JabRef (with BibTeX), Zotero.

Biology: Articles/Databases

Work at home or on campus