LibGuides: Biology: Journals

Evaluating journals

Guide to evaluation based on scientific publishing : Evaluating journals

JUFO portal Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The Publication Forum system is based on quality classification of scientific publication channels - journals, publication series and book publishers. In the JUFO portal you can perform publication channel searches.
More information
Ulrichsweb - Global serials directory Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Ulrichsweb is a source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Journal Impact Factors (IF) for journals included in the Web of Science database are published in Journal Citation Reports. More information about JCR | More information about Impact Factor
Journal Citation Reports® includes journal impact factors. It allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals.
SJR - SCImago Journal & Country Rank Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country-specific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). More information about SCImago Journal & Country Rank. More information about SJR indicator.
More information
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
An online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
More information about the database

Journals by subject

You can browse e-journals by subject in Oula-Finna, e.g.

The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that lists journals by subject. Journal lists are developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database

Agricultural and Biological Sciences 1800 journals. Subcategories include e.g.
- Animal science and zoology 350 journals
- Ecology, evolution, behavior and systmatics 500 journals
- Plant science 400 lehteä
Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology 1800 journals. Subcategories include e.g.
Environmental Science 1100 journals. Subcategories include e.g.
- Ecology 300 journals
Immunology and Microbiology 400 journals

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows the evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data drawn from over 10000 scholarly and technical journals included in the Web of Science -database. Journals are divided into over 200 categories by subject.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Journal Impact Factors (IF) for journals included in the Web of Science database are published in Journal Citation Reports. More information about JCR | More information about Impact Factor
Journal Citation Reports® includes journal impact factors. It allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals.

E-journals and full text databases

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary ejournals since 1995. Guide
Nature Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Publishes original scientific research reports, review articles surveying recent developments in specific disciplines, short contributions, letters, and commentary. Includes advertising, abstracts, bibliographies, charts, illustrations, trade literature, book reviews.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Full text of over 9000 publications in nearly every academic field of study. Ebsco guide
SpringerLink Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary online information service. Guide
Science Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Science is a weekly magazine providing news of recent international developments and research in all fields of science.
Science is a weekly magazine providing news of recent international developments and research in all fields of science. Publishes original research results, reviews and short features.
Wiley Online Library Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
E-journals and e-books in multiple subject areas. | Guide
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Collection Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidiciplinary full text database. Includes academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials. JSTOR quick guide

Open access -journals and archives

DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
An online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
More information about the database
Genamics JournalSeek Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
LivRe Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
SpringerOpen Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
SpringerOpen covers all fields within science, technology and medicine (STM).
In June 2010, SpringerOpen was launched as a response to the growing interest in open access
publishing. SpringerOpen is our new range of fully open access journals, which covers all
disciplines within the science, technology and medicine (STM) fields, giving authors in all areas
of science the opportunity to publish open access.
Scientific Reports EN Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Scientific Reports is a peer-reviewed open access research publication from the publishers of Nature, covering all areas of the natural sciences.
Scientific Reports is a peer-reviewed open access research publication from the publishers of Nature, covering all areas of the natural sciences. Rapid dissemination of accepted papers to the widest possible audience is achieved through a programme of continuous online publication. In addition, all papers are archived in PubMed Central.
PLOS - Public Library of Science Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
PLoS publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals: PLoS ONE, PLoS Medicine, PLoS Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Computational Biology, PLoS Pathogens, and PLoS Neglected Tropical Diseases.
PubMed Central Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine.
Scientific Journals International Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
OpenDOAR Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The Directory of Open Access Repositories OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
The Directory of Open Access Repositories OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories. Repository content can be searched.
OAISter Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service to create a collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone.
Project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service to create a collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone. When you search in OAIster, you're searching a wide variety of collections from a wide variety of institutions (around 405). These institutions have made the records of their digital resources available to OAIster which are aggregated into the OAIster service.
SPARC list of institutional repositories EN Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
List organized by country. Includes repositories that are institutional in scope and that contain multiple document types.
List organized by country. Includes repositories that are institutional in scope and that contain multiple document types. It excludes discipline-specific e-print servers and university repositories that contain only theses and dissertations.
ROAR (Registry of Open Access Repositories) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Promotes open access to the research literature pre- and post-peer-review through author self-archiving in institutional eprint archives.
Promotes open access to the research literature pre- and post-peer-review through author self-archiving in institutional eprint archives. ROAR monitors growth in the number of eprint archives and maintains a list of EPrints sites. Allows searching for and within repositories.

Accessing a journal article

Try searching for journal articles with the following useful tools:

Oula-Finna library catalogue
Search by Article title.

Google Scholar (university remote access) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Search by article title. Use also Google. Quick guide | More information
National Repository Library Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The National Repository Library (in Kuopio) stores material received from other libraries. | Free of charge book and article requests
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A search engine for freely accessible scholarly literature.
More information about the database

Interlibrary loan service

Alternative access to articles
How to access a scholarly article when the organisation does not have a valid licence agreement for the journal? Useful tips from the FinELib.

Open Access (OA) -publishing

A scientific publication is openly accessible when both the scholarly community and the general public have free and unrestricted access to it on the Internet.

Guide for open access-publishing.

Newspapers

PressReader Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
PressReader (formerly PressDisplay) offers access to 5000+ newspapers, from 100 countries, in 60 languages. Older issues are available for 60 days. Limited 5 simultaneous users.