Theses

Plagiarism detection program

Urkund is a system that compares a document submitted into it with it's own archive of all previously submitted documents, material on the internet and in the protected databases of Urkund's partners.

Laturi makes an Urkund analysis of a master's thesis for the reviewer's use, provided that the student has given permission for this by agreeing to the Urkund contract when submitting the thesis to Laturi.

Files submitted to Urkund through Laturi must be less than 200 megabytes in size.

Urkund contract in Laturi

This is a contract between you and the university regarding the reviewing of your work (henceforth to be referred to as 'document') in the Urkund system and the saving of the aforementioned document into the system.

By agreeing to this contract you agree to comply with its terms and clauses and you give the university the right to use the document in ways defined in this contract. The university retains the right to decide how long the document will be archived in Urkund. The copyright to the document will be retained by the author and no other rights will be transferred to the university except for the right to use the document in ways defined in this contract. The document, which is fed through Urkund, will not be used in any other way except what is defined in this contract.

Description of the procedures:

On the way from you to your reviewers and approvers, your document will pass through the Urkund system. It will be saved into the Urkund database, after which it is compared with other documents, encyclopedias, journalistic articles, scientific articles, books that are available for comparison, appropriate comparison material available on the Internet and other possible material suitable for comparison.

After the analysis is complete, a report will be sent to the reviewers of the master's thesis and to the persons participating in the approval and registration of completed study units (hereinafter referred to as approvers). This report lists possible similarities with other sources. The report contains a link to a general overview that reviewers and approvers can use when investigating the possible similarities in more detail. The importance of the possible similarities will be assessed by reviewers and approvers. If you so wish, you have the right to ask reviewers and approvers for a possibility to read the analysis of your work.

When the document has been fed through the system, it will be saved into the Urkund database as an archiving service for the university. The document can be used for analyzing other students' texts. If you do not wish that the works of students from other organizations can be compared to your document, you can prohibit the use of your document. If you prohibit the use of your document, your document will be saved in Urkund but it will not be used as source material except when analyzing the documents of students of the University of Oulu. When you have uploaded the material to Urkund, you will receive a link in your e-mail. Through this link you can prohibit the use of your document as source material as regards parties other than the University of Oulu. After this, only the teachers of the University of Oulu will find your document in Urkund.

Urkund FAQ

I want to submit my thesis for an Urkund check but I don't want it to be saved in their archive. What should I do?

You cannot yourself remove a thesis that has been saved into the Urkund archive.

The theses saved into Urkund are not publicly available and they cannot be searched. Urkund analyses include links to the archived documents that contain similarities, unless the author of the document has prohibited it.

You can prohibit the use of your document as source material in the analyses conducted by other educational institutions that use Urkund. When you have uploaded your document to Urkund you will receive a confirmation email containing a link through which you can prohibit such use of your document (Exempt document).

After you have the prohibited the use of your document as source material it will remain in the Urkund archive, but it can only be opened when analyzing documents sent by the University of Oulu.

Picture of the page where you can restrict the use of your thesis

I want to have my master's thesis checked by Urkund before i submit it to Laturi. Is this possible?

You can submit your thesis to Urkund before submitting it to Laturi through the Urkund website (Shortcuts -> Send your document (student)). However, please note that if you also give permission in Laturi for your thesis to be analysed by Urkund, it will be compared to your earlier version. Because of this it is important that you inform your reviewers and approver that you have already earlier submitted your thesis to Urkund, so that they can deactivate the version submitted earlier from the list of documents against which the thesis is compared.

When you give permission for Urkund analysis in Laturi, Laturi will automatically notify Oodi that your thesis has been checked by Urkund. This information is included in the transcript of records that is attached to the degree certificate.


Urkund rejected my thesis. What does it mean?

Urkund never determines what is a plagiarism. Rejection means that Urkund has not been able to analyze the file. Most common causes:

  • too large file (over 200 megabytes) -> try sending via Urkund webpages
  • no filename extension in the documents name, e.g. .pdf, .doc. -> add it
  • too long filename -> shorten it under 100 characters
  • too much graphic in the file -> do a file without pictures, and send it via Urkund webpages

line above footer

Oulun yliopiston kirjasto
PL 7500
90014 OULUN YLIOPISTO
Vaihde: 0294 480000