Research Data Guide

Managing research data

Finnish research data services

CSC´s information package about data management services and guidance: portal to the  Finnish FAIR-data services

CSC´s service catalogue helps to find appropriate DM services and tools for all data life cycle stages:

  • computing & analyzing
  • storing & sharing
  • opening & discovering
  • preserving

avoindata.fi All Finnish open data from one place

Directories for searching research data archives

International research data archives

 

Figshare  Established in 2012  Figshare is an open platform for institutions, publishers and researchers for making all research outputs (from posters to datasets)  available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner.
About 
Terms and conditions

Journals about research data

Data in Brief provides a way for researchers to easily share and reuse each other's datasets by publishing data articles that:

  • Thoroughly describe your data, facilitating reproducibility.
  • Make your data, which is often buried in supplementary material, easier to find.
  • Increase traffic towards associated research articles and data, leading to more citations.
  • Open up doors for new collaborations.

 

Scientific Data - a Nature journal

Finnish Committee for Research Data supports the directory of data journals. Journals list:

  • Biodiversity Data Journal
  • Biomedical Data Journal
  • BMC Research Notes
  • The CODATA Data Science Journal
  • Earth System Science Data
  • F1000Research
  • Genomics Data
  • Geoscience Data Journal
  • GigaScience
  • International Journal of Robotics Research
  • Journal of Chemical & Engineering Data
  • Journal of Open Archeology Data
  • Journal of Open Psychology Data
  • Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data
  • Matters
  • Open Health Data
  • Research Data Journal for the Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Scientific Data

Need support?

Other data archives

Mendeley data

  • For big and small datasets.
  • All datasets get unique DOI
  • After uploading data files Mendeley hosts the data
  • It is also possible to share data privately with chosen people
  • Mendely has teamed up with DANS (Data Archiving and Networking Services) for long term preservation of research data
  • Browse data sets uploaded by other researchers and see how many times data sets have been viewed and downloaded

DataCite Metadata Search
A global non-profit organisation that provides persistent identifiers (DOIs) for research data. The goal of DataCite is to help locate, identify and cite research data.

Data archives supported by publishers

Elsevier

Wiley Data Sharing

Open source data archives

Dataverse: Open source research data repository software

Statistical data