Welcome to the library vanha

There is a large collection of e-resources available for students of the University of Oulu and Oulu University of Applied Sciences.  

Use e-resources via Oula-Finna and Subject guides. 

See the Subject guides of your own institute and choose a guide of your own discipline.

University of Oulu and Oamk have their own Finna portals

Oula-Finna University portal includes e-resources acquired for the University of Oulu and Oula-Finna Oamk portal includes e-resources acquired for Oamk. You can access e-resources at your campus by logging in with your student account to your institution's workstations or campus network with your own computer. You can also use the wireless Eduroam-network.

Oulu University students cannot use e-resources of Oamk or vice versa. However, with the workstations In Pegasus library you can access both. 

VPN connection

When working at home or elsewhere outside the campuses you can also connect to the campus network through a VPN. This way, your data transfer is encrypted and you can access e-resources as if you were at the campus. 

See instructions: Open VPN and the profile (students of OU) or Global Protect -VPN-connection (students of Oamk).

Remote access 

Electronic resources can also be accessed off-campus remotely by logging in to Oula-Finna using your staff or student username and password. Off-campus access to electronic resources is limited to University of Oulu and Oamk students and members of staff only. Please note that you can login only via the library's website, Oula-Finna or Subject guides!

See instructions for off-campus access >>

  Databases marked with a red lock icon can be accessed remotely. Remote access requires logging in with your student or staff username and password.

1. Click the icon to get to the login page.
2. Give your staff/student username and password (the same ones you use for email).
3. Click the login button.

Or create a VPN-connection to the campus network.

  Databases marked with a green lock icon are open access databases and do not require logging in.​

   Some databases require a collective username and password. These databases are marked with a blue key icon.

Request for a username and password by sending an email to kirjasto(at)oulu.fi. 

  Some resources are not available for remote use at all.

Basics of searching for information: 

Self-study material for information searches (OAMK) 

Finding scientific information (OU) 

For more information on how to use e-resources, ask the library, use database quick guides or see the instructions of the individual e-resources.