Skip to main content

Ebooks: Using e-books

Using e-books

Ebook services have different terms of use for example with regard to the number of simultaneous users and printing rights.

When you login with your University of Oulu user ID (Haka Login), you have access to the electronic resources also from outside the University of Oulu Network.

1. Almost all services enable reading in web browser.

2. Most service providers enable the downloading of books to the user's own laptop computer, tablet or USB flash drive. This way they can be read later without an internet connection. For reading and downloading copyrighted material different programs may be required, depending on the e-book collection and platform in question. In most cases downloading requires:

  • Personal Adobe ID
  • Adobe Digital Editions application
  • Personal user ID to the e-book service in question
  • Reader application.

3. Some service providers have an app for borrowing and reading ebooks.

E-book help

Problems or questions about e-books? -> elele@oulu.fi

Are there titles missing from the collections? -> Suggest a title for purchase

Downloading ebooks

Protected material

  • The ebooks can be read later without being connected to the internet.
  • Different services have different terms of use for example with regard to the number of simultaneous users and loan period.
  • An ebook will automatically become inaccessible when the checkout period is exceeded. If you wish to continue reading the book you must download it again.

 

Examples of downloading ebooks

An example of how to download a DRM-protected book from a computer to your own device:

  1. Create Adobe account (Adobe ID). 
  2. Install Adobe Digital Editions and authorize it by logging in with your Adobe ID.
  3. Download and install a reader application to your device. 
  4. Authorize the device by logging in with your Adobe ID.
  5. Look up a book for example in Oula-Finna and open it through the link in the e-book service. Some e-book service providers require that you create a user account before you can download files from their collections. In this case follow the instructions on the website, create an account and log in.
  6. Download the ebook into Adobe Digital Editions. 
  7. Connect the reading device with your computer (USB cable).
  8. Transfer the book to your reading device in Adobe Digital Editions by dragging and dropping the book icon onto the reading device icon in the sidebar.

An example of how to download ebook to Ellibs app

  1. Download the Ellibs app to your device.
  2. Log in with the University of Oulu account (HAKA Login).
  3. Borrow e-book by tapping on the 'Borrow' button.
  4. Choose a loan time. The e-book will automatically appear in the reader screen.

Adobe ID and Adobe Digital Editions

Adobe ID

  • Adobe ID is needed for using DRM-protected material.
  • You get an Adobe ID by creating a personal Adobe account.
  • Adobe ID allows you to authorize an application that enables managing DRM-protected material on several devices at a time. Adobe ID authorization can be removed from a device when it is no longer needed.
  • Adobe ID, sign in, and account help

Adobe Digital Editions

  • Application for reading and managing e-books and other digital publications.
  • Enables the transfer of DRM-protected e-books from one device to another.
  • Supports several e-book formats, e.g. PDF/A and EPUB.
  • Devices supported by Adobe Digital Editions.

Adobe Reader for Mobile Devices

  • Adobe Reader can be used to open and manage PDF files

Referencing electronic resources

When using works (e.g. journal article, e-book) obtained from academic research databases or platforms, APA style rules are:

  • do not include the database or platform name
  • do not include URLs
  • include a DOI if the work has one
  • if a work does not have a DOI, treat the work as a print version.

https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/database-information

Web citations require much of the same information as print sources, but also provide the location of an online source:

1. Permanent identifier, etc. DOI, URN, Handle, or permalink.
Search for DOI:

2. Reference to web archive, Internet Archive or Memento, either existing version or version archived by you.

3. Avoid using the URL.

Source and more information in Finnish: Hakala, J. (2017). E-viittaamisen ihanuus ja kurjuus. Informaatiotutkimus, 36(2), s. 77–85. https://doi.org/10.23978/inf.65190