Scientific publications are searched in databases.
Oamk has licensed several databases for use by students and staff. These databases can be accessed via the university network, through a VPN connection, or by logging in with Haka login. You can access databases via links provided in the library guides or in Oula-Finna. A database address found through a search engine usually does not lead to the correct access point and often does not include links to full-text content licensed by Oamk.
The library acquires e-resources both through the FinELib Consortium of the National Library of Finland and directly from the publishers or vendors. The license agreements for e-resources specify the rights and the restrictions on usage, such as printing, citing and creating links. Commercial use of e-resources is prohibited.
E-aineistoihin pääsy
Punaisella lukkosymbolilla merkityt eli ostetut aineistot:
E-aineistojen käyttöoikeudet
Tarkista käyttöoikeudet aineistokohtaisesti: kustantajilla ja välittäjillä on tietokanta-, lehti- ja kirjakohtaisia aineistojen käyttöehtoja.
Vihreällä f-kirjainsymbolilla merkittyjen aineistojen käyttöoikeudet löytyvät FinELibin sivulta.
Kysy tai ilmoita ongelmista: elele@oulu.fi
Accessing e-resources
Electronic resources marked with red lock symbol:
User rights
Publishers may impose their own conditions of use applicable to their databases, journals and books. Such conditions of use shall be associated with such content.
Electronic resources marked with green f letter are subscribed with FinELib consortium:
Please ask or report problems: elele@oulu.fi
Not all electronic databases offered by Oamk can be accessed with student or staff user name and password. Some databases require a collective user name and password. You can request them by sending email to kirjasto@oulu.fi. The user name and password are given only to students and staff of Oamk.
Databases marked with a green lock icon are open access databases and do not require logging in.
Some materials are available only in the campus area.
... include, among others, collections of laws, dictionaries, reference books and journals.
Databases including full text articles in scientific journals are especially important to a researcher.
For example Ebrary, EBSCOhost and Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians are full text databases.
... include short descriptions (author, title, format, abstract) from varied printed documents, such as books, research reports or journal articles.
You cannot retrieve the original information from a reference database, but it helps you find the primary source of information.
A library catalogue is a typical example of a reference database.
... give a direct answer to a question or a restricted problem. The original document is thus not needed.
Fact databases include numerical data, statistical information and directories, such as addresses and phone numbers.
