Skip to main content

Legal deposit material: Legal deposit workstations

Legal deposit workstations

Electronic legal deposit material is accessible on designated legal deposit workstations on the second floor of thPegasus Library.

All material available on the workstations can be searched, viewed and listened to without user identification.

The Copyright Act specifies how the material may be used:

  • you may read, listen to and view the content
  • you may not make digital copies of the content
  • you may not save the content on your own storage device

The workstations are not connected to the Internet, it is not possible to save files on them and they cannot be used to send e-mail.

Introductory video by the National Library

Fiinnish Web Archive

The Finnish Web Archive collects publicly available online content targeted at the Finnish public.

The Directory of the Finnish Web Archive is freely available online. The directory can be used to check what content has been collected from a specific web address. The actual online content is only accessible on legal deposit workstations.

Further information: https://www.kansalliskirjasto.fi/en/collections/electronic-legal-deposit-copies-and-online-materials-in-the-national-collection.

Digitised material

Digitised newspapers and journals published before 1930 are freely available through the National Library's Digital Collections Service. The Copyright Act stipulates that newspapers and journals published after 1930 may only be used on legal deposit workstations.

Information about the digitised newspapers and journals can be found in the National Library's Digital Collections Service and in part also in the Fennica and Oula-Finna online catalogues.

Varia

Varia contains publications received as donations from online publishers, such as electronic books, journals and sound recordings.

Information about the material included in Varia can be found in the Fennica, Oula-Finna and Viola catalogues. The material can be read and viewed only on legal deposit workstations.

Further information: https://www.kansalliskirjasto.fi/en/collections/electronic-legal-deposit-copies-and-online-materials-in-the-national-collection

Radio and Television Archive

The Radio and Television Archive records the programming and metadata of several Finnish television and radio channels.

The Directory of the Radio and Television Archive is freely available online. The directory can be used to find out which programs have been recorded in the archive. The actual content of the archive is only accessible on legal deposit workstations..

Further information: https://kavi.fi/en/about-kavi/radio-and-television-archive