Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Even if a copy of a publication exists in the legal deposit archive, it is always possible to suggest that the library purchase additional copies for other collections, as well.
Legal deposit copies of books
Printed books are mainly kept in the legal deposit archive in the Pegasus Library. Each item has its own call number that begins with "P F" and they may be requested for reading either through the Oula-Finna online library catalogue or from the library service desk.
Electronic books can be accessed on the legal deposit workstations in the Pegasus Library. Detailed information of most of the material is available in the Oula-Finna and Fennica online catalogues.
Legal deposit copies of journals
Printed journals are included in the online library catalogue Oula-Finna. Library users can request journal issues for reading from the library service desk.
The periodicals that are classified as ephemera (e.g. advertising, event and members' magazines) are not preserved in the library, with the exception of some magazines published in Northern Finland. The library is not entitled to receive legal deposit copies of printed newspapers. These are purchased when needed in either printed or electronic form. Older newspapers are available on microfilm.
Most electronic journals are included in the Oula-Finna and Fennica online catalogues. On the legal deposit workstation you can find electronic journals under various categories
- The Finnish Web Archive archives web pages of freely accessible journals
- The Varia service contains for example journals published by electronic journal services
- The number of digitised journals increases all the time:
- journals published before 1930 are freely accessible at: digi.kansalliskirjasto.fi
- journals published after 1930 are only accessible on legal deposit workstations
Other legal deposit material
Official publications, committee reports, Finnish official statistics and maps are kept in Pegasus Library's lending collection, on the top floor, where customers may browse and use them. They can be found in the online library catalogue Oula-Finna, with the exception of maps.
The most recent maps received under legal deposit are available for browsing in Pegasus Library's lending collection, on the top floor. For all other map material, use the Melinda union catalogue to find their bibliographic information and contact the library's Information Resources Services at firstname.lastname@example.org for their availability.
All ephemera are preserved in the National Library of Finland and in Turku University Library. Oulu University Library has some ephemera pertaining to Northern Finland that it has received earlier. These are kept in an uncatalogued archive in the Pegasus Library. You can enquire about their availability from the library's Information Resources Services at email@example.com.
Ephemera digitised by the National Library can be found in the multi-institutional Doria repository and in DIGI - the National Library's digital collections service.
Databases and directories with information about legal deposit material
Oula-Finna online library catalogue
- bibliographic and availability information of printed legal deposit material available in Oulu University Library
- ephemera and maps have not been catalogued in Oula-Finna
Fennica - the National Bibliography of Finland
- bibliographic information of all printed material published in Finland (books, journals, maps)
- Fennica also includes the bibliographic information of some electronic legal deposit material
Melinda - union catalogue of Finnish libraries
- bibliographic and availability information of material in university libraries, libraries of universities of applied sciences and special libraries (books, journals, maps)
- In future Melinda will cover the material of all Finnish public libraries, as well
Arto - database of Finnish periodical and monograph articles
- bibliographic information of Finnish periodical and monograph articles
- links to full-text articles
Doria - multi-disciplinary repository
- freely available material digitised by the National Library of Finland
- books, maps, ephemera, recordings, manuscripts etc.
Digi - material digitised by the National Library of Finland
- journals and ephemera published before 1930 freely available at digi.kansalliskirjasto.fi
- journals published since 1930 only available on designated legal deposit workstations
Viola - National Discography of Finland
- information about Finnish sound recordings and sheet music
Finnish Web Archive
- search and browse websites
- viewing and listening to the actual content of the archive is only possible on designated legal deposit work stations
RTVA - Radio and Television Archive
- search and browse archived radio and television programs
- viewing and listening to the actual content of the archive is only possible on designated legal deposit workstations
In Finland different information resources are digitised by a number of libraries, archives and private actors. Some Finnish, freely accessible, older digitised resources are available on the library website.