Research visibility

Researcher profiles

It is important for researchers that their articles are easy to find in citation databases and thus gain visibility in the research community. However, due to variations in spelling and spelling mistakes in authors’ names in the databases, the identification of researchers and finding their publications can be difficult. After creating a researcher profile they are assigned a personal researcher identifier under which they can gather all their publications. Researcher profiles improve the discoverability of articles and facilitate keeping track of citations received, as well as enhance the researchers’ visibility in the research community.

ORCID researcher identifier

Information about ORCID on the University of Oulu website: http://www.oulu.fi/orcid

The international ORCID researcher identifier (Open Researcher and Contributor ID) provides you with a persistent and unique digital identifier. It is a number sequence that distinguishes you from other researchers. More than 4 million researchers already have an ORCID identifier.

To create your own profile you must first register to ORCID. Researchers at the University of Oulu are advised to create their ORCID identifiers via the link at: http://www.oulu.fi/library/orcid_en. This way your ORCID is simultaneously linked to the University's research information systems.

You can either maintain your profile manually or use the auto-update functionality to update your record automatically with publication information for example from ResearcherID, Scopus, Europe PubMed Central, and CrossRef Metadata Search. You can also import publication information in the BibTex format.

Oulun yliopisto tutkii - expert information database

On the My information page in the Oulun yliopisto tutkii (SoleCRIS) database you can view and edit your own profile, which shows your key personal details, such as contact information and fields of expertise. Any publications, expert tasks and other merits submitted to the database will be listed on your information page as well.

Researcher profile on the University of Oulu website

Researchers can also create their own researcher profile page on the University of Oulu website. You can find more information about the profile pages and instructions on how to create them in Notio.

Researcher profiles in research databases

 

Scopus automatically creates researcher profiles with author identifiers. Researchers can request for corrections, if needed. For example if:

  • your publications are listed under several author identifiers, you can ask Scopus to merge the identifiers ("Request to merge authors")
  • there is false or missing information in your profile, you can ask Scopus to correct or complete your researcher profile information ("Request author detail corrections")
  • there are publications that are not written by you listed under your researcher profile, you can ask Scopus to remove them ("Request to remove documents from author")

Requests can be made directly in Scopus or through a separate Author Feedback Wizard. By linking your Scopus researcher profile to your ORCID profile all your publications in Scopus are automatically added to your ORCID record. Data will not be transferred in the opposite direction, however.

After registration in the ResearcherID service researchers can create a researcher profile and through it maintain their list of publications. They can also supplement their profiles with affiliation information and monitor both the citation data and h-index from the Web of Science.

ResearcherID is integrated with Web of Science, making it is easy to add publications to your own researcher account. You can also import articles in the RIS format from other databases and reference software. Your ORCID account can be associated with your ResearcherID and data can be exchanged between these two.

Google Scholar does not automatically create profiles for researchers. However, they can create a Google account and collect all their articles found in Google Scholar to their My Citations page. The profile can be made public or kept private.

Benefits of a profile:

  • you can view a list of your own publications
  • statistics of citations received by the publications and tracking of citations
  • H-index of all the publications and five-year h-index
  • i10-index, i.e. the number of publications with over 10 citations
  • in Google Scholar search results public profiles are displayed as links
  • when searching by author in Google Scholar the public profile will be at the top in the search results.

More information:
http://scholar.google.fi/intl/fi/scholar/citations.html

Slide show guide:
http://www.slideshare.net/SarahG_SS/how-to-set-up-your-google-scholar-profile-google-scholar-citations

Video guide:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cV4N6pl1FgU

7 ways to make your Google Scholar Profile better:
http://blog.impactstory.org/make-google-scholar-better/

Google Scholar: Limitations and criticism
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google_Scholar#Limitations_and_criticism

Loading

University profiles

Universities also have their own profiles for example in Scopus and Web of Science. Since the university profiles are used for example in university rankings to evaluate the impact of publications, it is important to ensure that you cite your affiliation to your university in the correct form in your publications already at the writing stage.

All publications by researchers of the University of Oulu must cite University of Oulu as the affiliation, in addition to more detailed information about research units etc.

For example Research Unit, University of Oulu, Oulu, Finland

line above footer

Oulun yliopiston kirjasto
PL 7500
90014 OULUN YLIOPISTO
Vaihde: 0294 480000