Choosing a publication channel

Article title, abstract and keywords

It is not enough that the journal that publishes your article is indexed in large reference databases. You also have to carefully consider the title of the article and write the abstract keeping in mind how the people researching the same topic will best find the article.

The article title attracts readers to read the abstract - the abstract attracts readers to read the whole article.

Article title
When choosing the title for your article consider also how a colleague searching for information will find your article: use words that accurately describe the topic, avoid vague and abstract terms!

Write the abstract first
Start your writing process with the abstract because it is a concise version of your article or thesis and helps you crystallize the main points of your study.

Increase findability
Using synonyms in your text increases the probability that more information seekers will find your article in the database. In information seeking the title and the abstract are the most important fields in the relevance ranking.

Further reading:
Belcher, W. L. (2009). Writing your journal article in 12 weeks: A guide to academic publishing success. Thousand Oaks, Calif: SAGE. Retrieved from https://oula.finna.fi/Record/oula.1230454.

Visibility and reference databases

It always beneficial for the visibility of an article that the journal where it is published is indexed in the most popular databases, especially Scopus and Web of Science. Since these databases have many users, the findability of the article among a large number of researchers increases.

Both Web of Science and Scopus have master records with cited references, and they show the bibliographic and reference details of the citing records, thus improving the visibility of the researcher in the research community.

In Ulrichsweb you can check in which reference databases a journal is indexed, and also in which databases the full text of an article is available.

Benefits of open access publishing to the researcher

  • Visibility and accessibility of research improve
  • Open access articles have excellent findability on the Internet
  • Probability of being cited increases
  • Research quality improves

In open access publishing the author retains the copyright when the publication has an open license.

Parallel publishing / self archiving

Parallel publishing means that after an article is published in a scientific journal, the author deposits a copy of the article (publisher's PDF or so-called final draft version) to an open digital repository of the university he/she is affiliated to (Jultika at the University of Oulu).

If your article is accepted for publication in a non-open access journal, you can check the journal's policy towards parallel publishing in the SHERPA/RoMEO database. Parallel publishing in an organizational or discipline-specific repository makes your article available to those who have no access to a journal behind a paywall.

To ensure the long-term preservation of articles published in open access journals, it is advisable to parallel publish them in an organizational repository.

For further information on parallel publishing see the Guide to open access publishing.

Researcher profiles

Researcher profiles can be created for example in GoogleScholar, ResearcherID and ORCID. In Scopus, a profile is created automatically for you when you publish in a journal indexed by Scopus. In all services researchers should check that all their publications are correctly associated with their profile and update the profile or request for corrections if needed.

Networks in social media

Social media offer several opportunities for researchers to network with their colleagues and and make their research visible to both their peers and the general public.

Some examples: