LibGuides: Mathematics, physics and astronomy: Journals

Journals by subject

You can browse e-journals by subject in Oula-Finna, for example:

The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that lists journals by subject. Journal lists are developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database.

Mathematics 1200 journals in several categories.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows the evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data drawn from over 10000 scholarly and technical journals included in the Web of Science -database. Journals are divided into over 200 categories by subject.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan Journal Impact Factors (IF) for journals included in the Web of Science database are published in Journal Citation Reports. More information about JCR | More information about Impact Factor | JCR Support & Training
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan

Full text databases

Annual Reviews | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A nonprofit journal publisher of review series in several discipliness.
arXiv e-print archive Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
e-Print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. arXiv quick guide
Information on citing articles available. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution.

DOAJ-Directory of Open Access Journals EN
Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use an appropriate quality control system, and it will not be limited to particular languages or subject areas. The aim of the Directory is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

Science | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Science is a weekly magazine providing news of recent international developments and research in all fields of science.
Science is a weekly magazine providing news of recent international developments and research in all fields of science. Publishes original research results, reviews and short features.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary ejournals since 1995. Guide
Scitation Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Scitation is the online publishing platform of the AIP (American Institute of Physics) for science and technology content.
SpringerLink | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary online information service. Guide

More full text databases in Oula-Finna

Newspapers

PressReader | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
PressReader offers thousands of newspapers and magazines, from over 100 countries, in many languages. Time coverage varies by journal, can be years. No restrictions on the number of concurrent users. | Help Center | Mobile App

Accessing a journal

Useful tools for finding journals:

Oula-Finna Library Catalogue
Search by journal title.
For remote access to the licensed electronic sources you need to log in using your Oulu University user name and password (Haka login)

Google Scholar | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Search by article title. Use also Google.

Universal borrowing
Through Universal Borrowing the staff and students of the University of Oulu can request journal articles free of charge from the National Repository Library, which is located in Kuopio. Instructions
Interlibrary loan service
Alternative access to articles
How to access a scholarly article when the organisation does not have a valid licence agreement for the journal? Useful tips from the FinELib.

Open Access (OA) -publishing

A scientific publication is openly accessible when both the scholarly community and the general public have free and unrestricted access to it on the Internet.

Guide for open access-publishing.

Evaluating journals

Features of a reliable scientific journal include:

Referee, peer review.
Indexed in databases containing only high-quality peer-reviewed journals (Scopus, Web of Science). In some databases, it is possible to limit the search result to articles published in peer-reviewed journals.
Articles published in the journal are cited a lot

More information about publication metrics:

Journal lists

You can browse all the journal titles available in Oula-Finna on page e-journals by subject.

There are several tools and services that aim to list, rank or evaluate journals.

JUFO portal Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The Publication Forum system is based on quality classification of scientific publication channels - journals, publication series and book publishers. In the JUFO portal you can perform publication channel searches.
Ulrichsweb - Global serials directory | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Ulrichsweb is a source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Journal Impact Factors (IF) for journals included in the Web of Science database are published in Journal Citation Reports. More information about JCR | More information about Impact Factor | JCR Support & Training
SJR - SCImago Journal & Country Rank Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country-specific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). More information about SCImago Journal & Country Rank. More information about SJR indicator.
More information
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
An online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
More information about the database