Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide for Nanjing Institute of Technology (NJIT) students: Exercises

Instructions for exercises

Return your answers of exercises 1-4 to Moodle no later than Monday October 11th. 
Return your answers of exercises 5-7 to Moodle no later than Thursday October 14th.decorative

Exercise 1. Searching a book and an article

 

Find the book from Oula-Finna: Ali Babar, M., Brown, A. W. & Mistrík, I. (2014). Agile software architecture: Aligning agile processes and software architectures (1st edition.).  Are you able to read an e-book?

 

Find the article:

Abdar, M., Pourpanah, F., Hussain, S., Rezazadegan, D., Liu, L., Ghavamzadeh, M., Fieguth, P., Cao, X., 
Khosravi, A., Acharya, U.R., Makarenkov, V., Nahavandi, S.
A review of uncertainty quantification in deep learning: Techniques, applications and challenges
(2021) Information Fusion, 76, pp. 243-297. 
DOI: 10.1016/j.inffus.2021.05.008

Can you find the full-text, from where?

Exercise 2. Anatomy of scholar article

Open the PDF of the article "Utilizing online serious games to facilitate distributed requirements elicitation" https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jss.2015.07.017

and study the structure of the article. Which are the main headings of the article?

 

Study the bibliography of the article and select one interesting source. Check by using the Oula-Finna if you are able to read the whole article.

Which article did you select? Were you able to read it?

 

Exercise 3. Subject Searching

Find articles about the topic: 
 Machine learning algorithms used for intrusion detection in internet of things

Choose search terms you will use? (You'll need these keywords also on the next lesson.)

 

Write the search string and use it in the Scopus database. Use Boolean operators, truncation (wildcard) and phrases if necessary. 


How many results did you get?


How many results there are from years 2020 and 2021?


Is there any review articles in the results, how many?


Choose 1-3 keywords from the keywords and add them to your search.
Write the new search string here and use it in the Scopus database.


How many results did you get?

 

Look at the new search result.
Which is the first article when the results are sorted on relevance?


Limit search result to journals. Which one of the journals has the most of the results? 

Exercise 4. Adapting search for databases

Find articles about the same topic as in Exercise 3: 
 Machine learning algorithms used for intrusion detection in internet of things

Copy the search string you used in the Scopus database and edit it for the following databases, if needed. See Quick guides for help. Conduct searches and answer the questions:

 

Web of Science

Copy-paste search string from the search history:

How many results did you get?

What is the title of the most cited reference?

 

EBSCOhost (choose all databases)

Copy-paste search string from the search history:

Limit search result to peer review journal articles. How many results did you get?

 

ProQuest (choose all databases)

Copy-paste search string from the search history:

Limit search result to peer review journal articles. How many results did you get?

 

Finally, compare the search results you got from Scopus, Web of Science, EBSCOhost and ProQuest. In you opinion, which one of these database was the most suitable for searching information about this topic? Why?

Exercise 5. Improving search results

Continue searching articles about the topic Machine learning algorithms used for intrusion detection in internet of things in Scopus database.

 

How could you use a proximity operator in the search string? Give one example of a search string with a proximity operator. Conduct the search in Scopus. How many results did you get?

 

Using the same topic, how could you get a search result where each reference has the phrase "intrusion detection" on the title? Conduct the search and copy-paste the search string. Give also number of results.

 

Pick one relevant article reference from any of the previous search results. Explain how you could use pearl growing strategy to find more information sources on the same topic.

Exercise 6. Adapting search for ACM and IEEE databases

Find articles about the same topic as in Exercise 3 and 4: 
 Machine learning algorithms used for intrusion detection in internet of things

Copy the search string you used in the Scopus database and edit it for the following databases, if needed. See Quick guides for help. Conduct searches and answer the questions.

ACM digital library

Copy-paste search string from ACM search:

How many results did you get?

What is the title of the most cited reference?

 

IEEE Xplore digital library

Copy-paste search string from IEEE search:

How many results did you get?

What is the title of the most cited (by papers) reference?

 

Voluntary exercise 7. Standard and patent information searches

Find IEEE standard 1528.7. What is the title of this standard?

 

Browse standards and limit by the topic. How many standards there are in computing and processing?

 

Go to the Espacenet database. Search patents about the topic Using internet of things in indoor lighting.
Give search terms you will use.

Write the search string and use it in Espacenet.

How many results did you get?

Is there patents with chinese priority (CN), how many?

Sort results ascending order. Open the first reference. What is the title of this patent document?

What is the meaning of the first CPC class in this document?

 

Find patent documents by using CPC class G16Y 30/10. How many documents did you find on Espacenet?

 

 

Adapt your topic search (using internet of things in indoor lighting) to PatentInspiration database. How many results did you find on PatentInspiration?

Which has been the most active applicant in this subject area?

 

Find patent documents by using CPC class G16Y 30/10. How many documents did you find on PatentInspiration?

How many documents there are from China in this results? (Use Analyze patents --> country)

Contact information

Senior information specialists:

Kaisu Clarot, Pertti Martinmaki and Ursula Heinikoski

email: firstname.lastname@oulu.fi

Search example

Topic:  software engineering in artificial intelligence 

Search terms: artificial intelligence, AI, machine learning, software engineering

Search strings: ("artificial intelligence" OR AI OR "machine learning") AND "software engineering"