LibGuides: Research Data Guide: Repositories

Finnish research data services

CSC´s FAIR-data service catalogue helps to find appropriate DM services and tools for all data life cycle stages:computing & analyzing; storing & sharing; opening & discovering; preserving.

CSC´s services for sensitive data

CSC´s storage comparison table

QVain RD description tool
The Fairdata Qvain tool makes describing and publishing your research data effortless for you. It offers you a straightforward form in which to describe your data. Once you are happy with it, you can simply publish the dataset and make it visible to others. Qvain provides your dataset with a persistent identifier, landing page and distributes its description to other relevant services.
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
https://www.fairdata.fi/en/qvain/
Etsin - research data finder
Etsin enables you to find research datasets from all fields of science. Etsin contains information about the datasets and metadata in the national Finnish Fairdata services (QVain). Etsin currently harvests information from the Language Bank of Finland, the Finnish Social Science Data archive and the Finnish Environmental Institute, and new sources will be included.
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
Haka-authenticated users may enter information on their own datasets, and of others' datasets with their permission.
The published metadata on the dataset is open to everyone. The data rights owner decides how the underlying research data can be accessed and by whom. Sharing your data openly is recommended whenever possible. Etsin works independently of actual data storage location.
IDA - Research data storage service
Virus check. Back-up files. Permanent identifiers. Data should be part of a research project. Aimed for complete datasets, not for sensitive data. Data sets saved in IDA have an option to be saved to upcoming Digital Preservation Solution for Research Data (PAS) http://openscience.fi/digital-preservation1
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
Free service offered by the Ministry of Culture and Education to Finnish higher education organizations and projects of Academy of Finland. UOulu support http://www.oulu.fi/ict/node/18020
Contact person at the University of Oulu are Reijo Rasinkangas and Ari-Pekka Kvist.
FAIR-data-PAS
The digital preservation solution for research data is currently being developed and will be in use in 2018. The solution is built together with the digital preservation of cultural heritage data (the National Digital Library).
FSD - Finnish Social Science Data Archive
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
The Finnish Social Science Data Archive (FSD) provides a single point of access to a wide range of digital research data for learning, teaching and research purposes. The archive is a national resource centre funded by the Ministry of Education and Culture. All services are free of charge.
The FSD promotes open access to research data as well as transparency, accumulation and efficient reuse of scientific research and is the first organisation in Finland to have been awarded the Data Seal of Approval (DSA). More information
Aila - Data service portal
Provides access to datasets archived at the Finnish Social Science Data Archive and their study descriptions in Finnish and English.
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
All users can browse and search data, read study descriptions and download open access data. By registering, users can download data which have access conditions. Services are free of charge.

Students and staff from Finnish universities can register with Aila using the username and password issued by their institution (HAKA authentication). Other users apply for a username from FSD User Services.

avoindata.fi All Finnish open data from one place

UOulu disk resources for research

Disk resource for research

Data storage

Instructions about information processing (table opens in a PF-file)

Contact ICT services: ict@oulu.fi

Directories for finding data repositories

re3data.org Registry of research data repositories
EOSC resource portal
Google RD search
Data repositories part of the Open Access Directories
Horizon Europe: Requirements of trusted repositories
Scientific Data A peer-reviewed, open-access journal for descriptions of scientifically valuable datasets, and research that advances the sharing and reuse of scientific data

Criteria for choosing a data repository

Back- up? Security?
Permanent identifiers like DOI or URN?
Who can save new data to repository/archive?
Long term archiving?
Is the repository multidisciplinary or discipline specific?
- If discipline specific also metadata are discipline specific
- If multidisciplinary searching may be more challenging (e.g. technical or method-specific contents)
For what kind of data is the repository aimed
- Variables are more detailed if data is of specific kind
- Sensitive archives have restrictions concerning access for research data
Is the archive international? Is Finnish archive part of international archive consortium?
Data archive offered by science journal?
- Linking to actual publication (article) works well
- Continuity of the archive may be uncertain
- Suitable for short term research data archiving

Finnish research data archives are one option as well as data archives offered by your own research institution.

Horizon Europe: Requirements of trusted repositories (p. 156)

CoreTrustSeal Standards and Certification Board. (2022). CoreTrustSeal Requirements 2023-2025 (V01.00). Zenodo. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.7051012

OpenAIRE: How to select a repository?

UOulu data helpdesk

Helpdesk: researchdata@oulu.fi

Data Stewards at UOulu

Finnish Information Hub - Tutkimustietovaranto

The Finnish Research Information Hub service portal (Tutkimustietovaranto) research.fi researchers and organizations with all research outputs:

Publications: data source Virta publication service
Research data: data sources e.g. Finnish FAIRdata services
Infrastructures: data source Virta publication service
Fundings decisions
Other activities

The ORCID Connector service links ORCID IDs of the researchers of the University of Oulu to the information systems - like OuluCRIS - of the University of Oulu.

International data repositories

Learn how to make your code in GitHub citable with GitHub & Zenodo-integration. Below are some useful links:

Jaan Tollander de Balsch (2021) How to generate citation information, including DOI, for GitHub repositories using Zenodo (7.07 min)
Serena Bonaretti (2020) How to make open-source code citable with GitHub and Zenodo? (4.49 min)
Make your code citable using GitHub and Zenodo: A How-to Guide Open Science MOOC (2018)
Referencing and citing content GitHub (2022)
University of California, Berkeley Library´s guide

Journals about research data

Data in Brief provides a way for researchers to easily share and reuse each other's datasets by publishing data articles that:

Thoroughly describe your data, facilitating reproducibility.
Make your data, which is often buried in supplementary material, easier to find.
Increase traffic towards associated research articles and data, leading to more citations.
Open up doors for new collaborations.

Other data journals:

Biodiversity Data Journal
Biomedical Data Journal
BMC Research Notes
The CODATA Data Science Journal
Data Science Journal
Earth System Science Data
F1000Research
Genomics Data
Geoscience Data Journal
GigaScience
International Journal of Robotics Research
Journal of Chemical & Engineering Data
Journal of Open Archeology Data
Journal of Open Psychology Data
Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data
Matters
Open Health Data
Research Data Journal for the Humanities and Social Sciences
Scientific Data