LibGuides: Biochemistry and molecular medicine: Journals

Finding journals and articles

Are you searching for a journal? Search for a journal title or topic in Oula-Finna basic search. Journals may be printed or available online.
Are you searching for articles? Search for an article title in Oula-Finna International e-materials search tab.

How to check for full-text availability?

1. Check the full-text links

Click the full-text links and icons that are available in the database. In order to access full-text versions, make sure you have signed into the database through the links found on the library's website. Read more about remote access

2. Check with Google Scholar

Copy the name of the article you are looking for from the reference database. Sign in to Google Scholar through the library's website. Paste the name of the article into the search field. You might need to add quotation marks around it in order to find the exact phrase. E.g. "Nurse leaders as managers of ethically sustainable caring cultures". Google Scholar locates material from databases licenced to Oulu University as well as open archives or repositories.

3. Check with Oula-Finna

Sign in to Oula-Finna. Paste the name of the article into the search field and click "International e-materials search". You might need to add quotation marks around it in order to find the exact phrase. Oula Finna locates materials from databases licenced to Oulu University as well as open archives or repositories. If you don't find the article's full-text version, you may find the printed journal through the basic search (Books, journals etc.). You can either borrow the journal or scan the article at the library.

4. Check the National Repository Library collections

Students and staff of Oulu university can request article copies free of charge from the National Repository Library, which is situated in Kuopio. Check the availability of the journal you need in the National Repository Library. Attach the exact reference information of the article in your request.&Select pickup library. Collect the printed article from the library of your choosing. Oulu University staff can request printed articles to be delivered to their office in the campus.

5. Check with Oula Finna (Oamk) at the university campus

You can also check Oulu University of Applied Sciences Oula-Finna user interface if they have access to the material you are seeking. Students of university cannot use the materials remotely, but they can access them at Health and Social Care Library and Pegasus Library.

6. Check the possibility for interlibrary loans

If the material cannot be found in the nearby libraries, it might be available as an interlibrary loan from other libraries in Finland.

Open access journals and archives

DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
An online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
More information about the database
Genamics JournalSeek Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
SpringerOpen Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
SpringerOpen covers all fields within science, technology and medicine (STM).
In June 2010, SpringerOpen was launched as a response to the growing interest in open access
publishing. SpringerOpen is our new range of fully open access journals, which covers all
disciplines within the science, technology and medicine (STM) fields, giving authors in all areas
of science the opportunity to publish open access.
Scientific Reports EN Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Scientific Reports is a peer-reviewed open access research publication from the publishers of Nature, covering all areas of the natural sciences.
Scientific Reports is a peer-reviewed open access research publication from the publishers of Nature, covering all areas of the natural sciences. Rapid dissemination of accepted papers to the widest possible audience is achieved through a programme of continuous online publication. In addition, all papers are archived in PubMed Central.
PLOS - Public Library of Science Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
PLoS publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals: PLoS ONE, PLoS Medicine, PLoS Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Computational Biology, PLoS Pathogens, and PLoS Neglected Tropical Diseases.
PubMed Central Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine.
OpenDOAR Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The Directory of Open Access Repositories OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
The Directory of Open Access Repositories OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories. Repository content can be searched.
OAISter Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service to create a collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone.
Project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service to create a collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone. When you search in OAIster, you're searching a wide variety of collections from a wide variety of institutions (around 405). These institutions have made the records of their digital resources available to OAIster which are aggregated into the OAIster service.
ROAR (Registry of Open Access Repositories) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Promotes open access to the research literature pre- and post-peer-review through author self-archiving in institutional eprint archives.
Promotes open access to the research literature pre- and post-peer-review through author self-archiving in institutional eprint archives. ROAR monitors growth in the number of eprint archives and maintains a list of EPrints sites. Allows searching for and within repositories.