Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Help in scientific writing
Finalized bachelor's / master's thesis
Jultika - University of Oulu repository This link opens in a new window
The electronic theses are available to the public by the student's permission in Jultika - the open access repository of the University of Oulu.The e-thesis workstation
provides access to all master's and diploma theses that have been approved at the University of Oulu since the switch to electronic publishing of theses.
Mendeley This link opens in a new window
Using reference management you can:
- create a personal database for storing records
- insert citations while writing
- create a bibliography
- share information with other researchers
Referencing electronic resources
When using works (e.g. journal article, e-book) obtained from academic research databases or platforms, APA style rules are:
- do not include the database or platform name
- do not include URLs
- include a DOI if the work has one
- if a work does not have a DOI, treat the work as a print version.
Material without page numbers
- Provide a heading, section name, or paragraph number.
- For ebook chapters without pagination, omit the page range from the reference.
Web citations require much of the same information as print sources, but also provide the location of an online source:
1. Permanent identifier, etc. DOI, URN, Handle, or permalink.
Search for DOI:
2. Reference to web archive, Internet Archive or Memento, either existing version or version archived by you.
3. Avoid using the URL.
Source and more information in Finnish: Hakala, J. (2017). E-viittaamisen ihanuus ja kurjuus. Informaatiotutkimus, 36(2), s. 77–85. https://doi.org/10.23978/inf.65190
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
A research methods tool, contains content from books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and "Little Blue Book” series, a selection of journal articles, and videos. Help
| Training resources