LibGuides: Biochemistry and molecular medicine: Articles/Databases

Key databases

PubMed (Medline) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Free Medline-database. PubMed guide
PubMed includes over 25 million bibliographic citations in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. It provides access to MEDLINE® and to articles in selected life sciences journals not included in MEDLINE. PubMed is a free resource.
Medline (Ovid) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The MEDLINE is a bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences.
Includes Medline Daily Update which contains the latest references and Medline In-Process (new records which have not yet been enhanced with MeSH headings).
Scopus | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary citation database: journals, conference papers, trade publications, book series, patents. Scopus quick guide | User rights
If you experience technical issues in accessing or using Scopus, try emptying your browser cache and cookies. You can also try a different browser: for example, switch from Chrome to Edge. If the problems persist, please contact the library at elele@oulu.fi Technical issues in Scopus database
Web of Science | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database: journals and journal and book-based proceedings. Web of Science quick guide | More information about the database
Web of Science provides access to 6 citation databases: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities and Emerging Sources Citation Index. More information.
ProQuest Databases | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Contains several databases in several subject areas. Searches can be carried out for one or multiple databases at once. ProQuest guide

Full text databases

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary ejournals since 1995. Guide
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Full text of over 9000 publications in nearly every academic field of study. Ebsco guide
SpringerLink | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary online information service. Guide
Wiley Online Library | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
E-journals and e-books in multiple subject areas. | Guide
PubMed Central Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine.

Other useful databases

RCSB PDB Protein Data Bank EN Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The PDB archive contains information about experimentally-determined structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.
CAS SciFinder-n | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
An easy-to-use interface for the world's leading chemical information sources, millions of literature and patent references, as well as chemical compounds and reactions containing information of CAS databases, such as the Chemical Abstracts database. Also contains Medline. Access only in university network, for remote connection use VPN client. Only the students and staff of University of Oulu are entitled to use this database. All users need to create a personal account to use SciFinder-n. Use an email address ending oulu.fi in contact information. Link to new user registation |
SciFinder-n quick guide | Rights to use | SciFinder-n Content

Scientific search engines

Google Scholar | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A web search engine for scientific information. When you log in with your University of Oulu user ID, you have access to the licensed electronic resources also from outside the University of Oulu Network. Google Scholar quick guide
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A search engine for freely accessible scholarly literature.
More information about the database
Iris.ai Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Iris.ai is an AI-tool that comes with access to open access papers via core.ac.uk and includes the integration of PubMed database and Cordis database.
* Premium Iris.ai subscription has ended 31.8.2022. It is possible to use the service with limited functionality by registering as a basic user.

How to use academic research databases effectively? Browse the Finding scientific information guide for tips and tools!

How to find subject terms / subject headings related to your search topic? Subject headings are used by databases to describe the content of each article. You can find useful tools on Dictionaries and reference works page.