It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On campuses, you can access e-materials by logging in to the university's online workstations or to the wireless Eduroam network with your Uni of Oulu username. Outside of campuses, you can access the university network using the VPN service or remote desktop.
E-materials can also be used from outside the university network as a remote user. Access via Oula-Finna or libguides.oulu.fi -pages.
Accessing a journal article
It is often difficult to access individual journal articles. Try searching for journal articles with the following useful tools:
Web of Science provides access to 6 citation databases: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities and Emerging Sources Citation Index. More information.
PubMed includes over 25 million bibliographic citations in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. It provides access to MEDLINE® and to articles in selected life sciences journals not included in MEDLINE. PubMed is a free resource.
AGRIS is the international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology.
AGRIS is the international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. It was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to bring together world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture.
About 3 million references.
Arctic & Antarctic Regions is the world's largest collection of international polar databases. Ebsco quick guide
Arctic & Antarctic Regions is the world's largest collection of international polar databases. With over 1 million records from 1800 to the present, Arctic & Antarctic Regions covers a wide variety of sources from multiple disciplines.
Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and indexed from a wide variety of sources including scientific periodicals, monographs, proceedings of conferences and symposia, government reports, theses, dissertations and books. Many titles are indexed only in AAR. AAR is the best resource available for research on cold regions—from geology to global warming, engineering to oceanography, and biology to ethnic diversity.
Fish biology database. Information of e. g. 32 300 species.
FishBase was developed at the WorldFish Center in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and many other partners, and with support from the European Commission (EC).
The Baltic Marine Environment Bibliography covers bibliographic information on the Baltic Sea, i.e. all marine areas from the Gulfs of Finland and Bothnia in the east and north to the Belt Sea and Kattegat in the west.
The Baltic Marine Environment Bibliography covers bibliographic information on the Baltic Sea, i.e. all marine areas from the Gulfs of Finland and Bothnia in the east and north to the Belt Sea and Kattegat in the west. It contains references to reports including "grey literature", journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations etc. The bibliography covers material from the year 1970, currently ca. 11 000 references.
An easy-to-use interface for the world's leading chemical information sources, millions of literature and patent references, as well as chemical compounds and reactions containing information of CAS databases, such as the Chemical Abstracts database. Also contains Medline. Only the students and staff of University of Oulu are entitled to use this database. All users need to create a personal account to use SciFinder-n. You will get instructions for registration from firstname.lastname@example.org. Note: the IP address controls have been lifted until January 31, 2022 for easier access to SciFinder-n also off campus. SciFinder-n quick guide | Rights to use | SciFinder-n Content
A web search engine for scientific information. When you log in with your University of Oulu user ID, you have access to the licensed electronic resources also from outside the University of Oulu Network. Google Scholar quick guide
In addition to dozens of dictionaries, MOT Kielipalvelu contains MOT Translator (translations between 40 languages) as well as MOT Proofing (proofreading and spell checker of English, Finnish, Swedish, German and French).
Students and staff members can request a login link to the service for remote access as follows:
- Navigate to https://www.sanakirja.fi/korkeakouluille?lang=en
- Choose your organisation from the list and enter the email address you use in your organisation, then click “Get a login link”.
- Click the link in the email you receive.
- Set a password for your account so you will be able to login to the service with all your devices – whenever and wherever.
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database covering over 21,000 titles in the fields of science, technology, medicine (100% Medline coverage), social sciences and Arts & Humanities. It includes 6.5 million conferences papers, book series and trade publications. Scopus also cross-searches 24 million patents from five patent offices (US Patent & Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office).