oulucris@oulu.fi
Data on the publications and other output of the personnel of the University of Oulu are entered into OuluCRIS only when the work associated with them has been performed for the University of Oulu or while being employed by the University of Oulu. Work performed while working for other employers is not recorded in OuluCRIS.
The data collected in OuluCRIS is used for internal and external reporting (Ministry of Education and Culture and Statistics Finland), calculating funding (Ministry of Education and Culture and University of Oulu) and evaluating and monitoring research.
The university requires that the data on publications resourced by the university are entered into the OuluCRIS research information system.
Publication data are imported into OuluCRIS from citation databases, such as WoS, Scopus, Medic and Arto. All publication data are not published in these databases (or are published after a delay), which means that some of the data must be entered into OuluCRIS manually. The library reviews all publication data.
Researchers are responsible for the correctness of their publication data in OuluCRIS. This means that they must report all their publication data that are not imported automatically. They can also request the library to edit the imported data, paying special attention to the correctness of the field(s) of science classification. They should also report any erroneous publication data in their own profile.
The publication data collection carried out by the Ministry of Education and Culture (MoEC) applies to publications that are important in terms of tracking research and development activities. Further information on e.g. publication types: Publication data collection instructions for publication authors (MoEC).
Publications that are included in the collection must be based on the authors’ research and expert work, and the authors of the publications and the research and expert work must be affiliated to the University of Oulu. For example publications that are exclusively related to leisure, organizational or business activities and not based on research activity are not to be reported. Furthermore, any publications whose background research is not related to the author’s work at the university are not to be reported.
The publication must contain new scientific, professional or artistic content that has not been previously published in a form that is included in the publication data collection.
The scope of publication data collection does not include for example manuscripts, preliminary publications, posters, abstracts, translations, reprints (without significant changes to the previous edition) and documents intended for marketing communications. The publication must always have an external publisher that is independent of the researcher; self-published works by the author or documents published on the author’s or research group’s website are not to be reported.
The library takes care of recording the bibliographic metadata of doctoral dissertations. The system also has data entry forms for reporting patents, audiovisual publications, software applications and artistic activity .
More information on publication data collection and different publication types:Publication data collection instructions for publication authors
Read more instructions from Patio.
The system tracks publication data from reference databases. Importing publication data only provides information on some publications. The researcher is responsible for ensuring that the information of all publications he/she has made in the name of the University of Oulu can be found in OuluCRIS. Report missing publication information. Manuscripts that have not yet been published are not stored in the Research Information System.
