Bibliography management software speeds up and facilitates information retrieval and scientific writing, as well as collaboration between researchers, by providing a tool for saving and sharing bibliographical data from different sources, as well as creating textual references and bibliography in your document.
University of Oulu is subscribing to RefWorks reference management tool. Detailed instructions regarding the use of RefWorks can be found in the RefWorks Guide.
Collecting references
With RefWorks you can create a personalized online bibliographical database. It is possible to export selected references directly to RefWorks from the search results list of most databases by using a RefWorks link. You can also import references by using a Save to RefWorks -browser button, by importing a bibliography text file, by dragging the article pdf into RefWorks, or add references by writing them to the RefWorks bibliographical data form.
Writing and citing
References to text and the bibliography are easily made with the help of the cite in -tool. Cite in allows you to use the bibliographical data saved in the RefWorks database while you are working with Microsoft Word or Google Docs. It allows you to make textual references to the text you are writing and to create a bibliography.
RefWorks contains several hundred ready-made bibliography templates, such as the referencing styles of several scientific journals. The user can also create a personalized template when necessary.
An example of citation and bibliography made with RefWorks Cite in -tool in Microsoft Word 2016 document. 2.3.2017.
Sharing and collaborating
With RefWorks you can also share a collection of references with other RefWorks users inside or outside your institution.
