Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
It is advisable to search in several databases to ensure that the final search result is as comprehensive as possible. Take a look at the descriptions below and, if necessary, carry out preliminary searches to see if the databases are relevant to your topic.
- Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database: journals, conference papers, trade publications, book series, patents. 100% Medline coverage, though PubMed and Medline (Ovid) offer more versatile interface for search.
- Web of Science
- Multidisciplinary reference database
- Ebsco Databases
- ProQuest Databases
- Ebsco and ProQuest Databases contain several databases in several subject areas. Searches can be carried out in one or multiple databases at the same time. However, if you want to use database-specific subject headings, you need to carry out your searches individually in those databases (e.g CINAHL-database in Ebsco).
Medicine and health sciences databases
- Medline (Ovid)
- The MEDLINE is a bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. Similar to PubMed.
- Database of nursing and allied health literature.
- APA PsycArticles
- A full-text database for peer reviewed journals in psychology and related disciplines.
- Finnish bibliographic database of medicine and nursing.
- Cochrane Library
- Evidence-based medicine database. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL).
- JBI EBP Database
- Database of evidence-based resources and tools designed to assist in the clinical decision-making process and to support best practice.
- PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database
- OTDBASE - Occupational Therapy Journal Literature Search Service
University of Oulu and Oulu University of Applied Sciences both have their own, separate database licenses. Check access to databases using the links below (Access to databases).
Databases of systematic reviews (medicine and health sciences)
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- PROSPERO - International prospective register of systematic reviews