Systematic searching: Finding full texts

1. Check the full-text links

Click on the full-text links and icons that appear in the database. The links are often named "Full text". Make sure you are logged into the database via the library's website for full access. Read more on remote access in the instructions below.

• Remote access instructions (University of Oulu)
• Remote access instructions (Oulu University of Applied Sciences)

2. Check with Google Scholar

Copy the name of the article you need from the reference database. Log in to Google Scholar via the library's website. Paste the name of the article into the search box. Sometimes it is necessary to include quotation marks around the name of the article to search for a phrase that occurs consecutively. For example, "Nurse leaders as managers of ethically sustainable caring cultures". Google Scholar locates material from both restricted access databases to which an organisation subscribes and open access repositories.

• Google Scholar (University of Oulu)
• Google Scholar (Oulu University of Applied Sciences)

3. Check with Oula-Finna

Log in to Oula-Finna. Paste the name of the article into the search field and use the tab for international e-materials. Sometimes it is necessary to put quotation marks around the name of an article to search for consecutive phrases. The search will locate material from both restricted access databases to which your organisation subscribes and from a number of open access publication archives. If you can't find the full text of an article, you may be able to find the collection data for a print journal on the basic search page. You can then either borrow the journal or scan a copy of it for yourself.

• Oula-Finna (University of Oulu)
• Oula-Finna (Oulu University of Applied Sciences)

4. Article copy request from the National Repository Library

Students and staff can request article copies free of charge. Other customers can order article copies free of charge from the National Repository Library through the library’s Interlibrary Loan Service. Check the availability of the journal in the National Repository Library. Collect the printed article from the library of your choosing. University of Oulu and Oamk staff can request printed articles to be delivered to their office in the campus.

• Article copy request from the National Repository Library (University of Oulu)
• Article copy request from the National Repository Library (Oulu University of Applied Sciences)

5. Check for availability outside your organization

• University of Oulu students and staff: You can check from Oula-Finna Oamk interface if Oamk students and staff have access to the material you need. University of Oulu students and staff cannot access Oamk e-resources remotely, but they can access them at any Oulu University Library locations through designated customer workstations that are connected to Oamk's network. More information on customer workstations. 
• Oamk students and staff: You can check from Oula-Finna University interface if University of Oulu students and staff have access to the material you need. Oamk students and staff cannot access University of Oulu e-resources remotely, but they can access them at any Oulu University Library locations through designated customer workstations that are connected to University of Oulu network. More information on customer workstations. 

6. Interlibrary loans

If the library does not have a book or other resource you need in our collections, and it is not available from other libraries in the Oulu region, we can order it for you from another library in Finland or in some cases, abroad. You can order interlibrary loans by filling out an online form. This service carries a fee.

• Interlibrary loan service of Oulu University Library