LibGuides: Geology subject guide: Articles / Databases

Scientific search engines

Google Scholar | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A web search engine for scientific information. When you log in with your University of Oulu user ID, you have access to the licensed electronic resources also from outside the University of Oulu Network. Google Scholar quick guide
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A search engine for freely accessible scholarly literature.
More information about the database

Finding search terms

Use the tools listed below to find terminology related to your subject area. More about finding search terms in Finding scientific information

MOT Kielipalvelu | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
MOT Kielipalvelu contains dictionaries, translator, and proofing. | Guide

Scopus
Start searching with concepts and terminology familiar to you. You can find more potential search terms in the Keyword category of the Refine Results box.
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database covering over 21,000 titles in the fields of science, technology, medicine (100% Medline coverage), social sciences and Arts & Humanities. It includes 6.5 million conferences papers, book series and trade publications. Scopus also cross-searches 24 million patents from five patent offices (US Patent & Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office).
Wikipedia
Useful resource for getting to know the subject and finding synonyms.

ChatGPT, Copilot, and similar AI tools can help you find good keywords for your search. Please note, however, that they do not replace the need to familiarise oneself with the terminology used by researchers and experts in the field, see AI tools in information searching: GenAI – ChatGPT, Copilot

Essential databases

Geological Survey of Finland (Databases) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Geological Survey of Finland (Information services) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The online library has a wide selection of geological literature and maps. Even more extensive sets of material can be accessed through the Summon service on the library premises.
GeoRef (EBSCO) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Produced by the American Geological Institute, this database is a comprehensive geoscience database containing over 2.2 million bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals and other sources. NOTE! GeoRef in Process - database includes information not yet in GeoRef. Ebsco guide
Produced by the American Geological Institute, this database is a comprehensive geoscience database containing over 2.2 million bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals and other sources. GeoRef provides coverage in subject areas such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates.
Scopus | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary citation database: journals, conference papers, trade publications, book series, patents. Scopus quick guide | User rights
If you experience technical issues in accessing or using Scopus, try emptying your browser cache and cookies. You can also try a different browser: for example, switch from Chrome to Edge. If the problems persist, please contact the library at elele@oulu.fi Technical issues in Scopus database

Multidisciplinary databases

Scopus | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary citation database: journals, conference papers, trade publications, book series, patents. Scopus quick guide | User rights
If you experience technical issues in accessing or using Scopus, try emptying your browser cache and cookies. You can also try a different browser: for example, switch from Chrome to Edge. If the problems persist, please contact the library at elele@oulu.fi Technical issues in Scopus database
Web of Science | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database: journals and journal and book-based proceedings. Web of Science quick guide | More information about the database
Web of Science provides access to 6 citation databases: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities and Emerging Sources Citation Index. More information.

More useful databases

CAS SciFinder-n | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
An easy-to-use interface for the world's leading chemical information sources, millions of literature and patent references, as well as chemical compounds and reactions containing information of CAS databases, such as the Chemical Abstracts database. Also contains Medline. Access only in university network, for remote connection use VPN client. Only the students and staff of University of Oulu are entitled to use this database. All users need to create a personal account to use SciFinder-n. Use an email address ending oulu.fi in contact information. Link to new user registation |
SciFinder-n quick guide | Rights to use | SciFinder-n Content
Arctic & Antarctic Regions (EBSCO) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Arctic & Antarctic Regions is the world's largest collection of international polar databases. Ebsco guide
Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and indexed from a wide variety of sources including scientific periodicals, monographs, proceedings of conferences and symposia, government reports, theses, dissertations and books. Many titles are indexed only in AAR. AAR is the best resource available for research on cold regions—from geology to global warming, engineering to oceanography, and biology to ethnic diversity.
GreenFile Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
IEEE Xplore - IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE standards. IEEE quick guide | Rights to Use | Browser support
The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library provides a single source to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature, granting unparalleled access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Available online through the IEEE XploreTM interface.
ACM Digital Library | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Full text articles and bibliographic citations mainly in computing sciences and a reference database. ACM quick guide

Open access archives

OpenDOAR Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The Directory of Open Access Repositories OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
The Directory of Open Access Repositories OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories. Repository content can be searched.
OAISter Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service to create a collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone.
Project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service to create a collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone. When you search in OAIster, you're searching a wide variety of collections from a wide variety of institutions (around 405). These institutions have made the records of their digital resources available to OAIster which are aggregated into the OAIster service.
ROAR (Registry of Open Access Repositories) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Promotes open access to the research literature pre- and post-peer-review through author self-archiving in institutional eprint archives.
Promotes open access to the research literature pre- and post-peer-review through author self-archiving in institutional eprint archives. ROAR monitors growth in the number of eprint archives and maintains a list of EPrints sites. Allows searching for and within repositories.
SPARC list of institutional repositories EN Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
List organized by country. Includes repositories that are institutional in scope and that contain multiple document types.
List organized by country. Includes repositories that are institutional in scope and that contain multiple document types. It excludes discipline-specific e-print servers and university repositories that contain only theses and dissertations.

Accessing a journal article

Try searching for journal articles with the following useful tools:

Oula-Finna library catalogue
Search by Article title.

Google Scholar | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Search by article title. Use also Google. Quick guide | More information
National Repository Library Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The National Repository Library (in Kuopio) stores material received from other libraries. | Free of charge book and article requests
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A search engine for freely accessible scholarly literature.
More information about the database

Interlibrary loan service

Alternative access to articles
How to access a scholarly article when the organisation does not have a valid licence agreement for the journal? Useful tips from the FinELib.

Reference Management

Store your references with a reference manager. You can use the reference manager to:

Reference management software enables you to:

Create your personal reference database
Share references
Create a bibliography
Create in-text-citations
Format citations and bibliography according to different citation styles

Reference management applications

Mendeley Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Mendeley is a free reference manager for collecting reference data from various sources, sharing references with others and adding and editing in-text references and bibliography according to different citation styles.Mendeley guide
Zotero Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
With Zotero you can collect references in one place and add references and a bibliography to your text. Zotero can be used both via the user interface installed on your own computer and via the web. Zotero guide

Evaluating articles

Guide for Evaluation based on scientific publishing : Evaluating articles

Citation Alerts

Making a citation alert means that you will be automatically kept up-to-date when a certain article or a particular researcher has been cited.

Citation alerts in Scopus and Web of Science databases