LibGuides: Database quick guides: IEEE Xplore

IEEE database

The IEEE Electronic Library (IEL)provides a single source to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature, granting unparalleled access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). IEL is available online through the IEEE XploreTM interface.

IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore contains full-text documents from IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards, in addition to books and educational courses. IEEE Xplore also includes content from select other publishers including the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), MIT Press, IBM, Nokia Bell Labs, VDE Verlag, Tsinghua University Press, American Geophysical Union (AGU), Oxford University Press (OUP), Beijing Institute of Aerospace Information (BIAI), now Publishers, River Publishers, Artech House, and Princeton University Press, among others.

IEEE Xplore (IEEE/IEE Electronic Library) - database guide

Wildcard characters

* replaces multiple characters anywhere in a word
optic*
organi*ation

? question mark replaces single character

Stemming, plurals

The singular form of a word finds also the plural form.

Basic form of a verb finds also common verb forms: -ed, -es, ja -ing. British and American spellings are searched automatically.

foot retrieves foot ja feet

circuit retrieves circuit, circuits, circuited, circuiting

fiber retrieves fiber, fibre

Phrases

Phrase in quotation marks

the singular form of a word does not retrieve the plural form
it's possible to use wildcard *

“surface acoustic wave filter”

Phrase using a proximity operator:

stemming is in use
wildcards cannot be used

NEAR/0 (capital letters) words in any order
ONEAR/0 (capital letters) words in the given order

resistance ONEAR/0 amplifier

Search operators

Boolean operators (capital letters)

AND, OR, NOT
heart AND rate
heart rate retrieves heart AND rate

Proximity operators (capital letters)

only in Command Search
stemming is in use
wildcards cannot be used

NEAR/n : words in any order, n ≥ 0

ONEAR/n : words in the given order, n ≥ 0

signal NEAR/1 isolation

Tips

the default order of operator precedence is:

NEAR / ONEAR
NOT
AND
OR

Use Command Search for multiple operations.

Operators are not supported in advanced search fields, but you can use the drop-down menus between search fields. Operators are possible to use in command search, basic search, and search within results.

Using IEEE Electronic Library (IEL)

IEEE Xplore - IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE standards. IEEE quick guide | Rights to Use | Browser support
The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library provides a single source to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature, granting unparalleled access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Available online through the IEEE XploreTM interface.