Siirry pääsisältöön

Communications and information engineering, electronics and Information Processing Science subject guide: Articles/Journals/Databases

Key reference databases

Full text databases

Scientific search engines

Evaluating Internet sources

Internet sources must be critically evaluated, taking in consideration information reliability, permanence of source, availability of the document and copyrights.

Instructions on how to evaluate Internet sources:

Newspapers

Open Access (OA) -publishing

A scientific publication is openly accessible when both the scholarly community and the general public have free and unrestricted access to it on the Internet.

Guide for open access-publishing.

Finding search terms

Use the tools listed below to find terminology related to your subject area. More about finding search terms in  Finding scientific information

ChatGPT, Copilot, and similar AI tools can help you find good keywords for your search. Please note, however, that they do not replace the need to familiarise oneself with the terminology used by researchers and experts in the field, see AI tools in information searching: GenAI – ChatGPT, Copilot

Accessing a journal article

 

Try searching for journal articles with the following useful tools:

 

Accessing a journal

Useful tools for finding journals:

Reference Management

Store your references with a reference manager. You can use the reference manager to:

Reference management software enables you to:

  • Create your personal reference database
  • Share references 
  • Create a bibliography
  • Create in-text-citations
  • Format citations and bibliography according to different citation styles

Reference management applications

Citation Alerts

Making a citation alert means that you will be automatically kept up-to-date when a certain article or a particular researcher has been cited.

Journals by subject

The SCImago Journal & Country Rank portal contains ranking lists by subject for publications (journals, conference proceedings, books) included in the Scopus database. Lists can be sorted  according to different indicators.

  • Business, Management and Accounting
    Noin 1100 lehteä. Alakategorioina mm. Management Information Systems.
  • Control and Systems Engineering
    600 publications including 200 journals in Control and Systems Engineering.
  • Computer Science
    5300 publications including 1300 journals in computer science. Subcategories include e.g. Computer Networks and Communications, Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition, Signal Processing.
  • Decision Science
  • Noin 300 lehteä. Alakategorioina ovat Information Systems and Management, Management Science and Operations Research ja Statistics, Probability and Uncertainty.
  • Electrical and Electronic Engineering
    More than 1500 publications including 500 journals in Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows the evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data drawn from over 10000 scholarly and technical journals included in the Web of Science -database. Journals are divided into over 200 categories by subject.