LibGuides: Communications and information engineering, electronics and Information Processing Science subject guide: Articles/Journals/Databases

Key reference databases

Scopus Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary citation database: journals, conference papers, trade publications, book series, patents. Scopus quick guide | User rights
If you experience technical issues in accessing or using Scopus, try emptying your browser cache and cookies. You can also try a different browser: for example, switch from Chrome to Edge. If the problems persist, please contact the library at elele@oulu.fi Technical issues in Scopus database
Web of Science Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database: journals and journal and book-based proceedings. Web of Science quick guide | More information about the database
Web of Science provides access to 6 citation databases: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities and Emerging Sources Citation Index. More information.
CAS SciFinder-n Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
An easy-to-use interface for the world's leading chemical information sources, millions of literature and patent references, as well as chemical compounds and reactions containing information of CAS databases, such as the Chemical Abstracts database. Also contains Medline. Access only in university network, for remote connection use VPN client. Only the students and staff of University of Oulu are entitled to use this database. All users need to create a personal account to use SciFinder-n. Use an email address ending oulu.fi in contact information. Link to new user registation |
SciFinder-n quick guide | Rights to use | SciFinder-n Content
Ebsco Databases Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Several databases in many different subject areas. Full text and reference databases. Ebsco guide
ProQuest Databases Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Contains several databases in several subject areas. Searches can be carried out for one or multiple databases at once. ProQuest guide

Full text databases

IEEE Xplore - IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE standards. IEEE quick guide | Rights to Use | Browser support
The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library provides a single source to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature, granting unparalleled access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Available online through the IEEE XploreTM interface.
ACM Digital Library Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Full text articles and bibliographic citations mainly in computing sciences and a reference database. ACM quick guide
SpringerLink Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary online information service. Guide
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary ejournals since 1995. Guide
Wiley Online Library Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
E-journals and e-books in multiple subject areas. | Guide
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Full text of over 9000 publications in nearly every academic field of study. Ebsco guide
arXiv e-print archive Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
e-Print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. arXiv quick guide
Information on citing articles available. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
International literature in business research. ProQuest guide

Scientific search engines

Google Scholar (university remote access) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A web search engine for scientific information. When you log in with your University of Oulu user ID, you have access to the licensed electronic resources also from outside the University of Oulu Network. Google Scholar quick guide
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A search engine for freely accessible scholarly literature.
More information about the database
CiteSeerX Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
An evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on literature in computer and information science.

Evaluating Internet sources

Internet sources must be critically evaluated, taking in consideration information reliability, permanence of source, availability of the document and copyrights.

Instructions on how to evaluate Internet sources:

Newspapers

PressReader Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
PressReader (formerly PressDisplay) offers access to 5000+ newspapers, from 100 countries, in 60 languages. Older issues are available for 60 days. Limited 5 simultaneous users.

Open Access (OA) -publishing

A scientific publication is openly accessible when both the scholarly community and the general public have free and unrestricted access to it on the Internet.

Guide for open access-publishing.

Finding search terms

Use the tools listed below to find terminology related to your subject area. More about finding search terms in Finding scientific information

MOT Kielipalvelu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
MOT Kielipalvelu contains dictionaries, translator, and proofreading and spell checker. | Guide

Scopus
Start searching with concepts and terminology familiar to you. You can find more potential search terms in the Keyword category of the Refine Results box.
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database covering over 21,000 titles in the fields of science, technology, medicine (100% Medline coverage), social sciences and Arts & Humanities. It includes 6.5 million conferences papers, book series and trade publications. Scopus also cross-searches 24 million patents from five patent offices (US Patent & Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office).
Wikipedia
Useful resource for getting to know the subject and finding synonyms.

Accessing a journal article

Try searching for journal articles with the following useful tools:

Oula-Finna library catalogue
Search by Article title.

Google Scholar (university remote access) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Search by article title. Use also Google. Quick guide | More information
National Repository Library Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The National Repository Library (in Kuopio) stores material received from other libraries. | Free of charge book and article requests
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A search engine for freely accessible scholarly literature.
More information about the database

Interlibrary loan service

Alternative access to articles
How to access a scholarly article when the organisation does not have a valid licence agreement for the journal? Useful tips from the FinELib.

Accessing a journal

Useful tools for finding journals:

Oula-Finna Library Catalogue
Search by journal title.
For remote access to the licensed electronic sources you need to log in using your Oulu University user name and password (Haka login)

Google Scholar (university remote access) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Search by article title. Use also Google.

Universal borrowing
Through Universal Borrowing the staff and students of the University of Oulu can request journal articles free of charge from the National Repository Library, which is located in Kuopio. Instructions
Interlibrary loan service
Alternative access to articles
How to access a scholarly article when the organisation does not have a valid licence agreement for the journal? Useful tips from the FinELib.

Evaluating articles

Guide for Evaluation based on scientific publishing : Evaluating articles

Reference Management

Reference management software enables you to
- create your personal database
- share references
- create a bibliography
- create in-text-citations

Freely available reference management software: Mendeley, JabRef (with BibTeX), Zotero.

Citation Alerts

Making a citation alert means that you will be automatically kept up-to-date when a certain article or a particular researcher has been cited.

Citation alerts in Scopus and Web of Science databases

Journals by subject

You can browse e-journals by subject in Oula-Finna.

The SCImago Journal & Country Rank portal contains ranking lists by subject for publications (journals, conference proceedings, books) included in the Scopus database. Lists can be sorted according to different indicators.

Business, Management and Accounting
Noin 1100 lehteä. Alakategorioina mm. Management Information Systems.
Control and Systems Engineering
600 publications including 200 journals in Control and Systems Engineering.
Computer Science
5300 publications including 1300 journals in computer science. Subcategories include e.g. Computer Networks and Communications, Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition, Signal Processing.
Decision Science
Noin 300 lehteä. Alakategorioina ovat Information Systems and Management, Management Science and Operations Research ja Statistics, Probability and Uncertainty.
Electrical and Electronic Engineering
More than 1500 publications including 500 journals in Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows the evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data drawn from over 10000 scholarly and technical journals included in the Web of Science -database. Journals are divided into over 200 categories by subject.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Journal Impact Factors (IF) for journals included in the Web of Science database are published in Journal Citation Reports. More information about JCR | More information about Impact Factor
Journal Citation Reports® includes journal impact factors. It allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals.