A web search engine for scientific information. When you log in with your University of Oulu user ID, you have access to the licensed electronic resources also from outside the University of Oulu Network. Google Scholar quick guide
MOT Finnish-English; English-Finnish
MOT Finnish-English; Finnish-English
MOT WSOY Finnish-English Technology and Commerce; Fi-En
MOT WSOY Finnish-English Technology and Commerce; En-Fi
MOT Collins English Dictionary
MOT Collins Compact Thesaurus
MOT Finnish-Swedish; Finnish-Swedish
MOT Finnish-Swedish; Swedish-Finnish
MOT Finnish-German; German-Finnish
MOT Finnish-German; Finnish-German
MOT WSOY Finnish-German Technology and Commerce; Ge-Fi
MOT WSOY Finnish-German Technology and Commerce; Fi-Ge
MOT Finnish-French; French-Finnish
MOT Finnish-French; Finnish-French
MOT Dictionary of Contemporary Finnish
MOT Dictionary of Finnish Place Names
MOT Gummerus English-Finnish Dictionary of Idioms
MOT Kotus Finnish-Estonian Comprehensive Dictionary
MOT Kotus Estonian Morphological Dictionary
MOT WSOY Finnish-Spanish Comprehensive Dictionary; Fi-Sp
MOT WSOY Finnish-Spanish Comprehensive Dictionary; Sp-Fi
MOT Dictionary of Banking and Finance
MOT Dictionary of Economics
MOT Dictionary of Information Processing
MOT Fintra International Trade: Specialist Terminology
VN Korkeakoulusanasto (Higher Education Glossary)
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database covering over 21,000 titles in the fields of science, technology, medicine (100% Medline coverage), social sciences and Arts & Humanities. It includes 6.5 million conferences papers, book series and trade publications. Scopus also cross-searches 24 million patents from five patent offices (US Patent & Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office).
Produced by the American Geological Institute, this database is a comprehensive geoscience database containing over 2.2 million bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals and other sources. NOTE! GeoRef in Process - database includes information not yet in GeoRef. Ebsco guick guide
Produced by the American Geological Institute, this database is a comprehensive geoscience database containing over 2.2 million bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals and other sources. GeoRef provides coverage in subject areas such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates.
Web of Science provides access to 6 citation databases: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities and Emerging Sources Citation Index. More information.
An easy-to-use interface for the world's leading chemical information sources, millions of literature and patent references, as well as chemical compounds and reactions containing information of CAS databases, such as the Chemical Abstracts database. Also contains Medline. Only the students and staff of University of Oulu are entitled to use this database. All users need to create a personal account to use SciFinder. You will get instructions for registration from email@example.com. SciFinder quick guide | Rights to use | SciFinder Content
Arctic & Antarctic Regions is the world's largest collection of international polar databases. Ebsco quick guide
Arctic & Antarctic Regions is the world's largest collection of international polar databases. With over 1 million records from 1800 to the present, Arctic & Antarctic Regions covers a wide variety of sources from multiple disciplines.
Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and indexed from a wide variety of sources including scientific periodicals, monographs, proceedings of conferences and symposia, government reports, theses, dissertations and books. Many titles are indexed only in AAR. AAR is the best resource available for research on cold regions—from geology to global warming, engineering to oceanography, and biology to ethnic diversity.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
GreenFILE offers a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Nordic Archaeological Abstracts (NAA) is published once a year and provides a comprehensive guide to Nordic archaeological literature mainly from the preceeding year. Each issue of NAA contains hundreds of references, with abstracts, from a wide variety of journals and books. NAA covers publications dealing with archaeological investigations, recent as well as medieval and prehistoric. Studies within other disciplines (such as environmental history, numismatics, and osteology) are also included, provided they throw light on problems on material groups relevant for the archaeologist.
Full-text access to 121 IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and over 400 conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current 900 IEEE standards. IEEE quick guide | Rights to Use
The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library provides a single source to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature, granting unparalleled access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Available online through the IEEE XploreTM interface.
The Directory of Open Access Repositories OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
The Directory of Open Access Repositories OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories. Repository content can be searched.
Project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service to create a collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone.
Project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service to create a collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone. When you search in OAIster, you're searching a wide variety of collections from a wide variety of institutions (around 405). These institutions have made the records of their digital resources available to OAIster which are aggregated into the OAIster service.
Promotes open access to the research literature pre- and post-peer-review through author self-archiving in institutional eprint archives.
Promotes open access to the research literature pre- and post-peer-review through author self-archiving in institutional eprint archives. ROAR monitors growth in the number of eprint archives and maintains a list of EPrints sites. Allows searching for and within repositories.
List organized by country. Includes repositories that are institutional in scope and that contain multiple document types.
List organized by country. Includes repositories that are institutional in scope and that contain multiple document types. It excludes discipline-specific e-print servers and university repositories that contain only theses and dissertations.
Accessing a journal article
It is often difficult to access individual journal articles. Try searching for journal articles with the following useful tools: