Kirjaston oppaat: AI tools in information searching: AI tools for information retrieval

Reference or full-text databases utilising AI

This is a list of reference or full-text databases acquired by the University of Oulu Library, where artificial intelligence is used in scientific information retrieval. Activating the AI features of these databases is often fee-based. If you would like to request the acquisition of an AI tool, please contact the library.

Keenious | UniOulu
An easy-to-use AI-powered tool that searches for articles on similar topics based on a text. One year Keenious trial for the students and staff of Oulu university begins 1st June 2025. Access as a registered user and authentication code, in the university network also without login. We hope to receive feedback on the trial use at elele@oulu.fi. The collected feedback of the trial affects the acquisition decision of the tool. Integrates with word processors (MS Word or Google docs). The data comes from OpenAlex (>200 million references). Keenious video (Youtube) | Keenious AI tool guide (Haaga-Helia University of Applied Sciences)
Scopus AI | UniOulu
AI-driven research tool that uses the Scopus peer-reviewed research repository.
You can ask your question in natural language. Scopus AI searches for the most relevant documents, also generates a concept map, lists the most influential articles and leading experts, and suggests follow-up questions on the topic. It uses data from publications stored in Scopus, published from 2003 onwards and Scopus AI generates summaries based on Scopus abstracts with references. Scopus AI in Scopus LibGuide

A database AI tool

The database's AI tool searches only within the publications contained in the database: in abstracts or full texts.

It usually includes some of the following

natural language search
- a question or phrase, title of your research, or group of terms stated without Boolean operators
- the search result is similar to a normal search result or some kind of summary
summary of a publication or publications
other features, such as follow-up questions, concepts related to the topic or publication, and other publications related to the topic.

Databases that allow searching in natural language

Databases that provide only AI-generated summaries

AI-based systems in patent information retrieval

There are available many AI-based search engines and systems developed for searching patent information. These are mainly fee-based systems. University of Oulu has acquired the PatSeer Explorer system for the use of staff and students

PatSeer Explorer | UniOulu
PatSeer Explorer is an AI based patent database which is in use of the staff and students of the university. The use of the service requires login with the e-mail address of the university. When logging in, use the Send OTP login. You will get an authentication code in your email. The use is not allowed in other than work assignments of the university or in studying. PatSeer Explorer quick guide | PatSeer Explorer user guide

Covidence – a tool for systematic reviews
You can download references from databases to Covidence. The program helps, among other things, in checking references and duplicate removal.
All students and staff of the University of Oulu have access to Covidence. You can work at Covidence together with your research team, even if some of the members are from outside our organisation.
Uses machine learning to sort studies by relevance.

Free AI applications for information retrieval

The following applications are not licensed for use by University of Oulu or Oamk. They use openly published sources. If you use them, remember to apply source criticism and check the terms of use for e-materials. For example, the publisher may prohibit downloading an article into an AI tool.

Most free applications require signing up for the service, which means you will provide them with your personal information.

Elicit
An AI-powered research tool that helps with information retrieval, article analysis and abstract creation. Uses the Semantic Scholar index (more than 200 million). Link to OA articles only. Limited free use, account creation required. Elicit YouTube channel

No linking to licensed articles and no LibKey integration.
Search feed: Natural language phrases. Finnish search phrases usually work poorly. Propose alternative research questions.
Developer: Ought.

Litmaps
Litmaps finds relevant articles based on connection, using citations and references. Limited free use. Litmaps Youtube channel
Research Rabbit
Visualizes networks of papers and co-authorships. Free, requires registrating. Research Rabbit video (Vimeo)
Semantic Scholar
Free use, sign up to get access to more features. Semantic Scholar tutorial videos

Tietopalvelu

Help in information searching

Sähköposti / E-mail
informationservice(at)oulu.fi
Tiedonhaun ohjaus - varaa aika
- Book a librarian
Chat
ma–pe klo 9–15
Soita tai tule käymään
- Phone or visit
Tietoiskut - osallistu helposti etänä
- Online workshops

Use of Electronic Resources

When using AI based information retrieval tools, the terms of use of e-resources must be taken into account.