It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemistry, process- and environmental engineering, mining engineering and mineral processing: Articles/Databases
On campuses, you can access e-materials by logging in to the university's online workstations or to the wireless Eduroam network with your Uni of Oulu username. Outside of campuses, you can access the university network using the OpenVPN service.
E-materials can also be used from outside the university network as a remote user.
Accessing a journal article
It is often difficult to access individual journal articles. Try searching for journal articles with the following useful tools:
In addition to dozens of dictionaries, MOT Kielipalvelu contains MOT Translator (translations between 40 languages) as well as MOT Proofing (proofreading and spell checker of English, Finnish, Swedish, German and French).
Students and staff members can request a login link to the service for remote access as follows:
- Navigate to https://www.sanakirja.fi/korkeakouluille?lang=en
- Choose your organisation from the list and enter the email address you use in your organisation, then click “Get a login link”.
- Click the link in the email you receive.
- Set a password for your account so you will be able to login to the service with all your devices – whenever and wherever.
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database covering over 21,000 titles in the fields of science, technology, medicine (100% Medline coverage), social sciences and Arts & Humanities. It includes 6.5 million conferences papers, book series and trade publications. Scopus also cross-searches 24 million patents from five patent offices (US Patent & Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office).
Web of Science provides access to 6 citation databases: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities and Emerging Sources Citation Index. More information.
An easy-to-use interface for the world's leading chemical information sources, millions of literature and patent references, as well as chemical compounds and reactions containing information of CAS databases, such as the Chemical Abstracts database. Also contains Medline. Only the students and staff of University of Oulu are entitled to use this database. All users need to create a personal account to use SciFinder-n. You will get instructions for registration from email@example.com. Note: the IP address controls have been lifted until January 31, 2022 for easier access to SciFinder-n also off campus. SciFinder-n quick guide | Rights to use | SciFinder-n Content
Please note! No off-campus access! KnowPap is a multimedia learning environment covering papermaking and process control. KnowPap can be used for self-studying or as supplementary material for teaching.
Please note! No off-campus access! KnowPulp is a multimedia learning environment covering chemical pulping and process control. KnowPulp can be used for self-studying or as supplementary material for teaching.
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 25 million structures, properties and associated information.
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 25 million structures, properties and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from more than 400 data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
ChemSpider builds on the collected sources by adding additional properties, related information and links back to original data sources. ChemSpider offers text and structure searching to find compounds of interest and provides unique services to improve this data by curation and annotation and to integrate it with users’ applications.
A web search engine for scientific information. When you log in with your University of Oulu user ID, you have access to the licensed electronic resources also from outside the University of Oulu Network. Google Scholar quick guide