LibGuides: Chemistry, process- and environmental engineering, mining engineering and mineral processing: Journals

Accessing a journal

Useful tools for finding journals:

Oula-Finna Library Catalogue
Search by journal title.
For remote access to the licensed electronic sources you need to log in using your Oulu University user name and password (Haka login)

Google Scholar | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Search by article title. Use also Google.

Universal borrowing
Through Universal Borrowing the staff and students of the University of Oulu can request journal articles free of charge from the National Repository Library, which is located in Kuopio. Instructions
Interlibrary loan service
Alternative access to articles
How to access a scholarly article when the organisation does not have a valid licence agreement for the journal? Useful tips from the FinELib.

Newspapers

PressReader | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
PressReader offers thousands of newspapers and magazines, from over 100 countries, in many languages. Time coverage varies by journal, can be years. No restrictions on the number of concurrent users. | Help Center | Mobile App

Journals by subject

You can browse available e-journals by subject in Oula-Finna, e.g.

The SCImago Journal & Country Rank portal contains ranking lists by subject for publications (journals, conference proceedings, books) included in the Scopus database. Lists can be sorted according to different indicators.

Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows the evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data drawn from over 10000 scholarly and technical journals included in the Web of Science -database. Journals are divided into over 200 categories by subject.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Journal Impact Factors (IF) for journals included in the Web of Science database are published in Journal Citation Reports. More information about JCR | More information about Impact Factor | JCR Support & Training

Electronic journals / databases

ACS Publications | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Over 30 peer-reviewed journals and magazines in chemistry and related disciplines are published by ACS Publications. User rights
The Publications Division of the American Chemical Society strives to provide its members and the worldwide scientific community a comprehensive collection, in any medium, of high quality information products and services that advance the practice of the chemical and related sciences.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Kansainvälinen open access -lehtien hakupalvelu. Lisätietoa
IEEE Xplore - IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE standards. IEEE quick guide | Rights to Use | Browser support
The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library provides a single source to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature, granting unparalleled access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Available online through the IEEE XploreTM interface.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary ejournals since 1995. Guide
SpringerLink | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary online information service. Guide
Wiley Online Library | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
E-journals and e-books in multiple subject areas. | Guide
Science | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Science is a weekly magazine providing news of recent international developments and research in all fields of science.
Science is a weekly magazine providing news of recent international developments and research in all fields of science. Publishes original research results, reviews and short features.

More full text databases on Oula-Finna database list

Evaluating journals

Features of a reliable scientific journal include:

Referee, peer review.
Indexed in databases containing only high-quality peer-reviewed journals (Scopus, Web of Science). In some databases, it is possible to limit the search result to articles published in peer-reviewed journals.
Articles published in the journal are cited a lot

More information about publication metrics:

Journal lists

You can browse all the journal titles available in Oula-Finna on page e-journals by subject.

There are several tools and services that aim to list, rank or evaluate journals.

JUFO portal Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The Publication Forum system is based on quality classification of scientific publication channels - journals, publication series and book publishers. In the JUFO portal you can perform publication channel searches.
Ulrichsweb - Global serials directory | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Ulrichsweb is a source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Journal Impact Factors (IF) for journals included in the Web of Science database are published in Journal Citation Reports. More information about JCR | More information about Impact Factor | JCR Support & Training
SJR - SCImago Journal & Country Rank Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country-specific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). More information about SCImago Journal & Country Rank. More information about SJR indicator.
More information
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
An online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
More information about the database

Open Access (OA) -publishing

A scientific publication is openly accessible when both the scholarly community and the general public have free and unrestricted access to it on the Internet.

Guide for open access-publishing.