Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database quick guides: Espacenet

Quick references of the most central databases in the University of Oulu

Espacenet - database guide

Wildcard characters

at the end of a word

*  replaces zero or any number of characters          Metal* retrieves e.g. metal, metals, metallic, metallurgy, metallurgical
?  replaces zero or one character                            car? retrieves e.g. car, cars, card, care
#  replaces exactly one character                            car# retrieves e.g. cars, card, care (but not car)

Phrases    

Phrase in quotation marks
- wildcards can be used    
"waste water"   -   "waste water*"

Operators    

Boolean operators

AND, OR, NOT    

condition AND monitoring
condition monitoring    -    retrieves condition AND monitoring

Order of precedence rules

Use parentheses to override operator precedence. The expression inside the parentheses is executed first.

Without parentheses the search query is processed from left to rigth
(condition AND monitor*) OR (failure AND detect*)  

condition monitor* OR failure detect*      -      retrieves  condition AND monitor* OR failure AND detect*
- operators are executed from left to right

Limitations    

A maximum of 10 search terms may be entered in each field and a total of 20 search terms as a whole.

In the worldwide collection full texts (claims and description) are not searchable.

When searching in the EP or WIPO databases, you can use the full text search field.

Patent family    

See INPADOC Patent Family on the left side bar.

Tips    

Tips for smart search:

searc term (lower case letter) finds title, abstract, inventor or applicant

Search Term (capital Letter) finds inventor or applicant            "social network*" AND Facebook
 

Using Espacenet