Siirry pääsisältöön

Database quick guides: UniOulu

Quick references of the most central databases in the University of Oulu (UniOulu)

These are the guides for the most central databases in the University of Oulu (UniOulu) from which you can check the database-specific instructions.

The basic principles of the information retrieval is presented in the guide Finding scientific information.

Databases

Scientific publications are searched in databases. The University of Oulu has licensed several databases for use by students and staff. These databases can be accessed via the university network, through a VPN connection, or by logging in with Haka login.

You can access databases via links provided in the library guides or in Oula-Finna. A database address found through a search engine usually does not lead to the correct access point and often does not include links to full-text content licensed by the University of Oulu.

Link resolver

Link resolver (Linkityspalvelu)
Link resolver provides seamless access to electronic full-text content across all databases; for example External Link Iconor Check Oula-Finna for availability (opens in a new window) or Libkey link or BrowZine link.

LibKey
Link delivers one-click access to full-text (PDF); for example in International e-material search in Oula-Finna.

BrowZine
BrowZine allows you to browse and search e-journals acquired by Oulu University Library. 

Once you've selected a subject area you can choose to sort journals by title or by their Scimago Journal Rank (SJR). SJR is an open access service that includes indicators developed based on data in the Scopus database for evaluating journals and countries. 

You can open the article as a PDF, and export citation to Mendeley in Export Citation.

Links to BrowZine  appear for example in International e-material search results in Oula-Finna as well as in other databases like Ebsco.

The BrowZine Account feature is not subscribed to Oulu University.

LibKey Nomad 
Browser extension gives you fast, one-click access to scholarly articles provided by University of Oulu.

In databases there is

  • Download PDF or a link to database where the full-text is
  • BrowZine link where you may bworse and search journals.
    For example in Scopus database:

LibKey.io
Go from DOI or PMID to article in one-click.

  • DOI (digital object identifer) is a unique, persistent identifying number for a document published online. 
  • PMID is unique identifier number used in PubMed.

Käyttö / Using

E-aineistoihin pääsy

Punainen lukkosymboli Punaisella lukkosymbolilla merkityt eli ostetut aineistot:

E-aineistojen käyttöoikeudet

Tarkista käyttöoikeudet aineistokohtaisesti: kustantajilla ja välittäjillä on tietokanta-, lehti- ja kirjakohtaisia aineistojen käyttöehtoja. 

Vihreä f-kirjainsymboli Vihreällä f-kirjainsymbolilla merkittyjen aineistojen käyttöoikeudet löytyvät FinELibin sivulta.

Kysy tai ilmoita ongelmista: elele@oulu.fi

Accessing e-resources

etäkäyttö Electronic resources marked with red lock symbol:

User rights

Publishers may impose their own conditions of use applicable to their databases, journals and books. Such conditions of use shall be associated with such content.

FinELib user rights  Electronic resources marked with green f letter are subscribed with FinELib consortium: 

Please ask or report problems: elele@oulu.fi