LibGuides: Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science, Industrial Engineering and Civil Engineering subject guide: Articles/Databases/Journals

Key databases

Scopus | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary citation database: journals, conference papers, trade publications, book series, patents. Scopus quick guide | User rights
If you experience technical issues in accessing or using Scopus, try emptying your browser cache and cookies. You can also try a different browser: for example, switch from Chrome to Edge. If the problems persist, please contact the library at elele@oulu.fi Technical issues in Scopus database
Web of Science | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database: journals and journal and book-based proceedings. Web of Science quick guide | More information about the database
Web of Science provides access to 6 citation databases: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities and Emerging Sources Citation Index. More information.
Ebsco Databases | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Several databases in many different subject areas. Full text and reference databases. Old Ebsco interface is available until end of year 2024. Ebsco guide
ProQuest Databases | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Contains several databases in several subject areas. Searches can be carried out for one or multiple databases at once. ProQuest guide
CAS SciFinder-n | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
An easy-to-use interface for the world's leading chemical information sources, millions of literature and patent references, as well as chemical compounds and reactions containing information of CAS databases, such as the Chemical Abstracts database. Also contains Medline. Access only in university network, for remote connection use VPN client. Only the students and staff of University of Oulu are entitled to use this database. All users need to create a personal account to use SciFinder-n. Use an email address ending oulu.fi in contact information. Link to new user registation |
SciFinder-n quick guide | Rights to use | SciFinder-n Content
TRID EN Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
TRID - the TRIS and ITRD database provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
TRID contains more than one million references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and journal articles in the field of transportation research as well as more than 73,000 links to free or fee-based full-text publications. It is produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board TRB. TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.

Scientific search engines

Google Scholar | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A web search engine for scientific information. When you log in with your University of Oulu user ID, you have access to the licensed electronic resources also from outside the University of Oulu Network. Google Scholar quick guide
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A search engine for freely accessible scholarly literature.
More information about the database

Evaluating articles

Guide for Evaluation based on scientific publishing : Evaluating articles

Evaluating journals

Guide to evaluation based on scientific publishing : Evaluating journals

JUFO Portal
The Publication Forum system is based on quality classification of scientific publication channels - journals, publication series and book publishers. In the JUFO portal you can perform publication channel searches.
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
More information
Ulrichsweb - Global serials directory
Note! The University of Oulu's order for the Ulrichsweb ends on December 31, 2021.
Ulrichsweb is a source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals. More information about the database
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
Detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Journal Impact Factors (IF) for journals included in the Web of Science database are published in Journal Citation Reports. More information about JCR | More information about Impact Factor
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
Journal Citation Reports® includes journal impact factors. It allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals.
SJR - Scimago Journal & Country Rank
The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country-specific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). More information about SCImago Journal & Country Rank. More information about SJR indicator.
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
More information
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
An online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
More information about the database

Evaluating Internet sources

Internet sources must be critically evaluated, taking in consideration information reliability, permanence of source, availability of the document and copyrights.

Instructions on how to evaluate Internet sources:

Citation Alerts

Making a citation alert means that you will be automatically kept up-to-date when a certain article or a particular researcher has been cited.

Citation alerts in Scopus and Web of Science databases

Finding search terms

Use the tools listed below to find terminology related to your subject area. More about finding search terms in Finding scientific information

MOT Kielipalvelu | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
MOT Kielipalvelu contains dictionaries, translator, and proofing. | Guide

Scopus
Start searching with concepts and terminology familiar to you. You can find more potential search terms in the Keyword category of the Refine Results box.
Lisätietoa | More info Pienennä | Less info
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database covering over 21,000 titles in the fields of science, technology, medicine (100% Medline coverage), social sciences and Arts & Humanities. It includes 6.5 million conferences papers, book series and trade publications. Scopus also cross-searches 24 million patents from five patent offices (US Patent & Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office).
Wikipedia
Useful resource for getting to know the subject and finding synonyms.

ChatGPT, Copilot, and similar AI tools can help you find good keywords for your search. Please note, however, that they do not replace the need to familiarise oneself with the terminology used by researchers and experts in the field, see AI tools in information searching: GenAI – ChatGPT, Copilot

Full text databases

IEEE Xplore - IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE standards. IEEE quick guide | Rights to Use | Browser support
The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library provides a single source to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature, granting unparalleled access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Available online through the IEEE XploreTM interface.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary ejournals since 1995. Guide
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Full text of over 9000 publications in nearly every academic field of study. Ebsco guide
Emerald Insight | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy, leadership, library and information management, marketing and human resource management, as well as a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles. Journals are included in the Scopus. Guide
SpringerLink | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Multidisciplinary online information service. Guide
Wiley Online Library | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
E-journals and e-books in multiple subject areas. | Guide
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
International literature in business research. ProQuest guide

Accessing a journal article/a journal

Try searching for journal articles with the following useful tools:

Oula-Finna library catalogue
Search by Article title.

Google Scholar | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Search by article title. Use also Google. Quick guide | More information
National Repository Library Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The National Repository Library (in Kuopio) stores material received from other libraries. | Free of charge book and article requests
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
A search engine for freely accessible scholarly literature.
More information about the database

Interlibrary loan service

Alternative access to articles
How to access a scholarly article when the organisation does not have a valid licence agreement for the journal? Useful tips from the FinELib.

Reference Management

Store your references with a reference manager. You can use the reference manager to:

Reference management software enables you to:

Create your personal reference database
Share references
Create a bibliography
Create in-text-citations
Format citations and bibliography according to different citation styles

Reference management applications

Mendeley Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Mendeley is a free reference manager for collecting reference data from various sources, sharing references with others and adding and editing in-text references and bibliography according to different citation styles.Mendeley guide
Zotero Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
With Zotero you can collect references in one place and add references and a bibliography to your text. Zotero can be used both via the user interface installed on your own computer and via the web. Zotero guide

Newspapers

PressReader
PressReader (formerly PressDisplay) offers access to 5000+ newspapers, from 100 countries, in 60 languages. Older issues are available for 60 days. Limited 5 simultaneous users.

Parallel publishing

About parallel publishing (or self archiving) on Open Access publishing guide.

Open Access (OA) -publishing

A scientific publication is openly accessible when both the scholarly community and the general public have free and unrestricted access to it on the Internet.

Guide for open access-publishing.

Journals by subject

You can browse e-journals by subject in Oula-Finna.

The SCImago Journal & Country Rank portal contains ranking lists by subject for publications (journals, conference proceedings, books) included in the Scopus database. Lists can be sorted according to different indicators.

Building and Construction
about 120 journals.
Business, Management and Accounting
about 1100 journals, subcategories: Industrial Relations, Marketing, Strategy and Management
Civil and Structural Engineering
about 200 journals.
Control and Systems Engineering
about 200 journals
Decision Sciences
about 300 journals, subcategories: Management Science and Operations Research
Geotechnical Engineering and Engineering Geology
about 150 journals.
Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering
about 200 journals
Materials Science
about 1000 journals, subcategories: Biomaterials, Ceramics and Composites, Metals and Alloys
Mechanical Engineering
about 500 journals
Mechanics of Materials
about 300 journals

Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows the evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data drawn from over 10000 scholarly and technical journals included in the Web of Science -database. Journals are divided into over 200 categories by subject.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Journal Impact Factors (IF) for journals included in the Web of Science database are published in Journal Citation Reports. More information about JCR | More information about Impact Factor | JCR Support & Training