Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Publisher's Guide – Information about publishing: Publishing channels

Where can I offer my publications?

Authors can offer their publications to the publishers of professional and scientific journals and books as well as to publications intended for the general public. The quality of the channel and target audience must be taken into account when selecting the publishing channel. In addition, the emphasis in selecting the publishing channel should be on publications that comply with the data collection manual  prepared by the Ministry of Education and Culture for universities of applied sciences.

Photo of books.

Arene ry recommends that teachers and researchers prefer Open Access journals.

Arene ry, Open Access statement

Finding a publishing channel

You can use the Oula-Finna database to find a suitable publishing channel. In the Search pull-down menu, you can browse a list of journals or search for a journal by name or subject.

The library website also contains field-specific data search guides that can be used to find a suitable publishing channel.

Juuli and Research.fi -portals contains information on the research publications produced at Finnish organizations.

ISBN-code

The ISBN code is used to identify books intended for public use. Identifiers as a part of metadata serve the publishing industry and library sector in their entirety and support identification, processing and availability of publications. The identifiers are used, for example, in publishing industry's ordering and distribution systems to speed up the identification of publications as well as international and domestic joint catalogues, bibliographies, library lending systems and information retrieval. 

A separate ISBN code is assigned to each book, all of its publication forms and editions containing changes. The publication can take the form of a printed book or an audiovisual or electronic recording.

You can get the ISBN-code from isbn@oamk.fi.

Agreeing on authorship

Agreeing on authorship

 the Finnish Advisory Board on Research Integrity (TENK) has drawn up a recommendation for the use of
researchers working in Finland on agreeing authorship of research co-publications. The recommendation serves as a general guide and is intended to be taken into account alongside the established practices of the discipline in question. 

Agreeing on authorship. Recommendation for research publications

Open Publishing in Elsevier and Emerald

Take Advantage of OA Benefits

Elsevier

Under FinELib consortium’s agreement with Elsevier, authors of Oamk can publish their articles open access without article processing charge (APC) in Elsevier hybrid journals eligible for the agreement. The agreement covers access to Science Direct Freedom Collection and a chance to publish a set amount of articles open access in the majority of Elsevier hybrid journals 1.1.2021–31.12.2023.

Am I eligible?

  • You are the corresponding author of the article.
  • You are affiliated with one of the participating institutions: FinELib institutions.
  • Your article has been accepted for publication in one of the Elsevier’s hybrid journals: List of eligible journals (xlsx). NB! Alterations to the list are possible during the agreement period.
  • You may also have the right to publish articles open access without an APC fee in other hybrid journals outside of the above list if your organization has an agreement with Elsevier. Please contact your own library/information service for information of such journals (these journals are not included in the title list below).

  • The acceptance date of your article is between Jan 1, 2021 and Dec 31, 2023.

  • Your article has been peer-reviewed. Peer-review article types include: full length journal articles, review articles, short communications
    case reports, short reviews (surveys), original software publications, data articles, micro-articles, protocols, replication studies and videos.

More information

Emerald

FinELib consortium’s agreement with Emerald offers authors an opportunity to publish their articles voucher under the CC BY-license with a free open access. This means that there is no article processing charge for the author. The vouchers can be used during the agreement term 1.1.2021–31.12.2023). 

More information

OAMK'S OWN PUBLISHING CHANNELS

OTHER PUBLICATION CHANNELS

UAS Journal

The UAS Journal online publication focuses on education, research and development activities in the fields of practice-oriented higher education in Finland. The UAS Journal is published by Arene and has been financed by the universities of applied sciences since 2010. The first issue of UAS Journal was published in 2011.

The UAS Journal is open-access, free-of-charge online journal and includes four issues a year. The articles are published mainly in Finnish, with summaries in English.

The topics in 2020

DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals

DOAJ logo.

DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Scientific Journals in Finland

Scientific Journals Online portal logo.Scientific Journals Online portal includes information on open access publishing. The links Search and Browse get into the open access journal portal of scientific and scholarly peer-reviewed journals published in Finland. Other Finnish open access journals of general informational value will be included in the portal too. The Federation of Finnish Learned Societies is maintaining the site.

The federation provides e-journal hosting using the Open Journal Systems (OJS) to aid the member societies in open access publishing.

Journal Quality List - Anne-Wil Harzing

Anne-Will Harzingins Journal Quality List is a collation of journal rankings from a variety of sources. It is published primarily to assist academics to target papers at journals of an appropriate standard