With a search history, organising, comparing and editing previous searches can be done quickly and easily. In practice, the search history lists all searches run during one session, so a user can easily return to the results of previous searches or edit earlier searches. A search in search history can also be saved and set as the target of your automatic current awareness alerts. That way you will be automatically kept up-to-date when new articles related to your subject are added to the database.
A search history frequently allows the combining of previous searches. It is often sensible to first run searches in small stages so that the number of documents related to different sections of the subject can be seen in the database.
The search history allows the combining of earlier searches. In Scopus the searches are combined by writing the desired search string numbers with an AND, OR or an AND NOT operator to combine them. You can also setup a search alert in search history. In brief, what is meant by alerts, is that search results are automatically sent to the subscriber's email. The subscriber can choose how often the alert service performs a search in the database Scopus 16.8.2018
|
It is likely that articles and books relevant to your research topic will be published even after the first successful search. It is therefore good to save the search and to manually run it again at regular intervals in the database.. Most databases and services offer the possibility of setting up an automated alert when new documents match your search string. The search string will be performed regularly in the database, and any new matches will be sent to the subscriber by email. Many databases require registration if you want to save searches and create alerts.
|
Search alert will inform you of new hits for your search string. Citation alert will let you know when a certain article in the database has been cited. Journal alert (publisher website) informs you by e-mail whenever a new journal issue is published. |
