Analysing the search result
|
Database tools for analysing the search result (analyze results, refine results):
Before using the analysing or refining tools on your search result, make sure that your search string is correct, you are following the database intstructions and using the relevant search terms. |
Some databases offer a tempting limit to full text -option. It limits the search results to the full text documents included in the database in question. This option will leave out also those references that would provide easy access to the full text via the link or as an open access pubication. |
| Sort by | |
|
In general, the relevance and publication year are suggested as the order of presentation for the search results. Some databases offer also an option to organize a set of results according to the number of citations received by an article (Cited by), for example Scopus. |
 |
| Document type | |
|
In many databases it is possible to limit the search results to peer reviwed publications only. Other document type limitations include for example books, conference proceedings or review articles. Example: Scopus |
|
| Publication year | |
| Databases usually allow limiting with time of publication. Example: ProQuest. |
|
| Subject area
|
|
|
Many databases provide a possibility to refine the search result by broad subject categories, for example Scopus Notice, that more specific keyword or thesaurus term lists should not be used for limiting the search result, but rather for finding new search terms. |
|
