LibGuides: Database quick guides: Oula-Finna

Oula-Finna

Oula-Finna | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
All the printed and electronic resources available at Oulu University Library. When you log into Oula with your University of Oulu user ID (Haka Login), you have access to the electronic resources also from outside the University of Oulu Network. More info | Quick guide
International e-materials / Oula-Finna | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Search includes online links to articles and open access books.
National Repository Library Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
The National Repository Library (in Kuopio) stores material received from other libraries. | Free of charge book and article requests
Finnish articles / Oula-Finna | UniOulu Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Arto database and Journal.fi

Database quick guide: Oula-Finna and Arto

	DESCRIPTION	EXAMPLES
Truncation and wildcard - can not be used as the first character in a search term	* replaces 0…n characters Without truncation finds - words similar to the searched Finnish word - English s-ending forms	child* > child, children's childhood päiväkoti > päiväkoti, päiväkodin, vuorohoitopäiväkodissa, päiväkirjani ... kotimaassa emotion > emotion, emotions
	? replaces a single character	wom?n > woman, women
Phrases	Double quotation marks = exact phrase - the singular form of a word does not retrieve the plural or other forms in phrases - no truncation - suitable for searching for known publication	"computational thinking" "positiivinen pedagogiikka" does not retrieve the form 'positiivisen pedagogiikan' etc. ~~"computer progra"~~ "International Journal of Language and Communication Disorders"
Operators	Search terms are automatically combined using AND. Operators must be in capital letters.	health nutrition child* "participatory design" OR "cooperative design" OR "co-operative design"
Tips	It's possible to use boolean search strings with operators and parentheses in basic search (NB: search terms / phrases are automatically combined using AND).	("participatory design" OR "cooperative design" OR "co-operative design") ("user interface" OR "user interfaces") *(monikulttuuri OR maahanmuut) AND (päiväko OR varhaiskasvat)* ((social media) OR instagram OR facebook) AND (brand OR marketing)
Tips	Finna utilises the Voikko language tool which returns the words of the Finnish language to their basic form and chops compounds.	https://voikko.puimula.org/

More info: Oula-Finna

Oula-Finna:

Books, journals, databases etc.: the library’s books, journals, databases and thesis.

E-materials: International e-materials search; peer reviewed articles either as references or as full texts.

National Repository Library: in Kuopio; free of charge book and article requests.

Finnish articles: The Arto reference database contains mainly Finnish scientific articles. Journal.fi Finnish Scholarly Journals Online.